You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding the calm - Running, meditation and mindfulness

in #running7 years ago (edited)

Good advice Shelly. It's a great quote. Hadn't heard that one before.

I'm still very new to meditation and struggling with it a bit. Trying to get it into my routine there is always something going on that demands attention or gets priority. Or I can't seem to get into the zone with too much in my head or sometimes I'm tired and just fall asleep. I've tried the repetitive and breathing thing while on the treadmill and when trying to sleep with mixed results (more nay than yay sadly)

The struggle is real but I find that when I get it right I feel great and calm, sometimes for days. Thanks for the reminder that it's worth persisting :)

Sort:  

Yeah I think they key is not to beat yourself up when the mind wanders. Just note that it did and come back to breathing... I fall asleep a lot when I meditate :) I found it easier to start with guided meditation or music I struggle when it's just me and my brain lol. I've found some binaural beats help get me to a similar state, we've really got into that lately for brain entrainment. Scott's been doing a remote viewing course and he finds that the binaural beats help get him into that meditative but focussed state

I haven't heard of binaural beats before but it sounds interesting and I'll give it a try. Thanks for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60700.74
ETH 2389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64