You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Great Manchester Run – A Spectators story

in #running6 years ago

What a cool deal. That is just way cool. The story has always been told to me that if you can run a half you can run a full. I don't know from experience.

I was involved for a number of years with 'lilac Bloomsday' the worlds largest timed road race in Spokane, Wa. I ran it several times, and the best one of those was the year I paced my oldest step daughter 2/3 of the way when she finished 3rd in the U16 class. She was afraid of going out too fast so asked me to go :)

In the fullness of life, her mother and I bought a house right on the course, in fact on a corner. It was the perfect way to enjoy the spectacle, from our front porch.

Thanks for a great piece. I really appreciate it.

Sort:  

Thanks for visiting @bigtom13.

She does keep talking about doing a full marathon, but I'm not so sure she can do it. After the event, it was.. oh my legs.., after she had cooled off. Maybe one day, but then I will have to hang around 4 hours for her instead of 2!

I'll need to bring a laptop, setup in Starbucks and do my Steeming in there while waiting.. I suppose. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45