Run With Me #17 ~ Race Report! - PNC Atlanta 10 Miler

in #running7 years ago

PNC Atlanta 10 Miler

The Atlanta 10 Miler is a race I just love to hate! The race course is super challenging. This year they changed the route and somehow made a difficult course even tougher!

This is my “freaked out...why do I sign up for this every year” face before we headed out the door.

0F8ACDEF-A18A-4DF3-AECE-59B705DF318E.jpeg

The day and night before the race I followed all the correct steps. I drank a gallon+ water and did some light carb loading by eating spaghetti 🍝 and olive bread 🥖.

71BA72B1-88EE-4CF9-A1BF-6A78E6CD8741.jpeg

I get three new specific running outfits per year...don’t get me wrong, I get more active wear clothing, but these are scheduled purchases. 😂

This year I found my perfect 10miler outfit at Target 🎯. I’d had my eye on these running tights for a few weeks but they never had them in my size except on the mannequin. Saturday I had the very nice sales associate disrobe the plastic lady wearing my pants! One of the other things I like to do the night before a race is paint my nails a fun color. Sometimes it’s the little things that provide the best distraction.

128FF7AA-2E47-4697-8F9A-80F523986876.jpeg

I got to the race with perfect timing. A quick last minute restroom break and before I knew it I was in the start line waiting on my wave to start. My ladies and I snapped the obligatory pre race selfie and then we were off!

7002A3AA-A2C7-4C02-ADBF-C0948A1DD56B.jpeg

Again, this course was tough, the elevation chart will tell that tale, but I’m crazy happy to say that I got a PR for this race distance (10 miles aka 16.093 Km). As they say “not fast, but not last”. 🙂

Another race tradition I have is the trip to Waffle House for breakfast immediately after the race. I usually cannot eat at all before races so this trip was 100% earned!

3FC3FDB6-9904-4D8D-AE41-CC0274924155.jpeg

This race is actually part of a series of races that the Atlanta Track Club hosts each year called The Triple Peach. The series consists of a 10k on July 4th, the 10Miler around the 22nd of October and then a Half Marathon on Thanksgiving Day, this year it will be November 23rd!!

One of the coolest things about this series is how awesome the medals are. The one for yesterday’s race is mesmerizing 😎


Happy Running Y’all

Sort:  

Congratulations for your PR!!
Good work

Thanks!! Got to get that 5k PR next!

Nice Run ! Conglatulations !

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44