I just PR'd a Half Marathon with my Best Friend | Ran 500+ Mi. | Funding my Next Race with This Post!

in #running7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit friends!

Yesterday my best friend and I ran a half marathon! This was my fourth and her first :)


She KILLED IT despite injuries AND flew all the way up here to hang out with me for a week and run this thing. There's absolutely no way I would've pushed as hard as I did if it weren't for her motivating me to give it my all.

19726951_10211949051195108_736610562_o.jpg


And because of that, I finished with my best race time yet. I'm not naturally good at running. I started out not being able to run for more than 30 seconds without feeling like my heart was going to burst out of my chest.

19724163_10211949054955202_1290468660_o.jpg



The only difference between my current results and past results is time, effort, and dedication, not talent. This one reminds me of that everyday. My goal was to beat my last time of 2.04 and get a sub 2 hour half. With her fire behind me, I did it. 🙌


☀️ 1 hr. 56 min. PR
☀️8.52 min/mi pace
☀️ PR'd the first 3 mi.
☀️3.08 min./mi improvement in 1 year
☀️ Shaved a total of 41 minutes off the total time in 1 year

19726970_10211949052755147_932536697_o.jpg

The picture below is from my first half marathon.

Screen Shot 2017-07-05 at 1.18.12 PM.png

I remember the first time I went running. I tried out for the cross country team on the first day of high school and could barely get around the track four times without feeling like I was going to die. I was stopped in my tracks by an asthma attack and couldn't even finish the tryouts.



I hadn't had anything to eat that day so my mom took me to McDonalds and I ordered a Big Mac, a side of chicken nuggets, a large fries and a Coke. (This was way before I started learning about nutrition 😂). While scarfing the food down, I said "Mom, I'm going to learn how to run. I may not be on the team and that's okay but in going to teach myself how to run." And from that day forward, I ran. Every single day, for as far as I could go until my lungs gave out. When I first started, no joke, I could only run for a good 30 seconds to a minute before I felt like I was going to pass out.



Fast forward to now, 9 years later. Has it really been 9 years?! I have a whole new love and appreciation for running. I'm taking it seriously because it's saving me. Going on a run or a walk is sometimes the only thing that can get me out of bed. It's just one of those things that makes sense.



Going strong...
19724052_10211949191998628_899995782_o.jpg

I love running so much and it has been huge in helping me with my depression. I want to sign up for more races but financially, this is not feasible at the moment. So I thought I would share my running story with all my steemit friends, and whatever funds I receive from upvotes, I will set aside for my next race! So it would be a steemit funded and backed race and my new goal is to get down to an average of 8.30 min./mi. :) If you want to help out, please upvote and resteem! Thank you so much :)



And thank you to my steemit friends for your support in encouraging me to continue posting and sharing :) @acidyo @kenny-crane @adventureevryday @abit

Sort:  

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

Thank you so much dude! Just followed :) Thank you for your support

U are welcome, plzz visit my blog and help by Upvoting

This comment has received a 0.06 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.06 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Great job by you and your friend on the half marathon! I'm sure you will hit your speed goal. UP voted! :)

Thank you @kenny-crane!!! I love this community so much and I'm so glad that I connected with you early on :)

It's fun doing what you love most getting the best out of what you love enjoy.

YES! Exactly :) Thank you for your support :)

What running is for you, for me it's swimming. Love sports. Nice post!

Cool cool! I'm not the best at swimming but I love floating around in a pool haha!

Amazing marathom i ever seen great post with some beautiful pictures keep sharing man 😊😊☺✌

Thank you friend! I love all these pictures, they make me so happy because they are filled with so much love and are good memories to look back on!

great achievment ..very sportive from you i like that you keep running :)

Beautiful two of you ;0

Thank you so much for your support!

Great job! Nothing better than having amazing friends to push you to get better! Keep it up. Upvoted and followed.

Thank you friend! Followed you as well. It says you're an entrepreneur in your tag line. What do you do? I am one too :)

Congratulations! You had a very good time in Half!
Keep on training and running! I love running as well.
Upvoted and following!

You're so kind! Thank you for this message. LOVE running! So tough though. Followed you too!

Amazing, u so great! I even cannot run 2KM... so sad...
follow me, help me run...

congrats baby so proud of you!! :)

Thanks babe!!! It was so hard but so worth it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85