Run For Steem: Broke Into Double Digits! :)

I think it might be "Fat Tuesday" somewhere, but not in my world. ;)  I finally broke the double digit mileage barrier for the first time this year today for my run!  I'll probably crash later, but feeling pretty good right now.

Once again I need to give some props to @jumowa and the #runforsteem initiative for keeping me on top of my training.  I still haven't been able to make scheduling work with my running buddy here, so knowing I can share with this growing online community definitely helps me make sure I put in the work.  You've got the whole rest of the week, so plenty of time left to join in if you want!  The latest information post is here: https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-feb-12th-feb-19th-and-payout-for-last-week

It was a little cooler today, so I broke out my lined purple pants to keep me warm.  The sassy color doesn't hurt with some bonus motivation, too. ;)  They are bright enough to keep me visible, too.  This route was mostly on the sidewalk, but I have to cross enough streets that I feel better knowing I don't blend in with the rest of the scenery.

I am about 3 1/2 weeks out from my first half of the season, and I feel pretty good about the runs I've been able to get in.  Though I am not worrying about my time on this first race, I still wanted to make sure I got up to the double digit mark at least once during training.  I think it is definitely just as much mental as it is physical.  I tend to do better with a negative split, so I started out the first few miles a little bit slower before picking it up a little bit.  I also was not quite sure how I would feel doing this distance so I wanted to be a little conservative at the start and make sure I could get the full goal mileage.

I averaged about a minute per mile slower than my projected race pace, so I didn't try to kill myself too much for a training run. ;)  It does still amaze me that I feel better doing 10 miles than I do keeping it to 8 miles.  Anyone else have that happen?  And for good measure, here is one to prove the date that I did my run in keeping with the challenge rules.

I am getting more and more excited for race day!  We just booked vacation for after my second half of the spring, too, so that should really keep me on my training through the spring, haha!

I hope everyone has some great runs this week!  Go keep those hearts healthy for Valentine's Day!

Sort:  

Awesome stuff! Nice acceleration at the end too! I'm still working my way up to 10 miles but all these posts help keep me pumped

Thanks! I am really enjoying joining in and getting inspired by everyone on here, so I'm happy to help return to the motivation to others, too! I'll definitely stop by your blog to see what you're training for. :)

Valentine's Day! and spring day. i like it day . thank s for sharing post

It's a great day to keep moving forward! :)

And I thank you guys for motivating me as well. Bravo!

Thanks again! I'm excited to see how I do on my racing this year with the little extra push from being a part of this community. :)

Congrats! what's for dinner after so much work?

Everything! Haha! Actually have a bean-based spaghetti with a red lentil and veggie-packed ragu planned. If I'm feeling spunky I may make some chocolate date balls for dessert. ;)

Great Mardi Gras purple tights!

🤣🤣

Wow! Girl you have the power! Congratulations!

Thanks Maru! I'm trying to start off the year strong! 🏋️‍♀️

Kickass negative split!

Thanks! I wasn't paying too much attention to actual speed, more so to how I felt. Definitely a confidence boost to know I can kick it towards the end. 😁

Dear @plantstoplanks with this post you have been qualified to be an “Approved” Runner of @runningproject.
Now is your turn, transfer 1SBD or 1 STEEM as “Enrollment” Fee to @runningproject in order to enter in our “curation” list.

Resteemed by @runningproject

Awesome! Thanks so much! I look forward to being a part of the community!

This post has received a 2.61 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @dksart.

Nice negative split action there =)
And I agree much of it is largely mental!

Seems like that is most things in life, right? Getting your brain to go along with your body! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50