Rainy. Cool. Foggy. Overcast. Perfect. [runforsteem]

in #runforsteem6 years ago

Sunday runday

I woke up and it sounded like a waterfall. I didn’t check the forecast so rain was not what I was expecting on the day of the sun. But alas outside my window was a white grey and wet backdrop. Then it seemed to stop all of a sudden.

Two days ago I went running at the track at high noon. Not the smartest move. I ran with my shirt off to catch some much needed sun and by the second mile I was done. It was just too hot. I had some decent times but I’m running a 5k (or so) this week and wanted to get in a similar distance run before hand.


B94776CB-FF98-457A-BD4D-8D83C98A667F.jpeg
Artificial grass


track time

Flashback to the present (now past) and I decided to go running on this rainy Sunday. As mentioned above, the torrential downpour had ceased and now it was between a mist and light drizzle. Upon arriving at the park it seemed to have stopped altogether. As titled, the cool, overcast and now not not so rainy day was perfect for a bit of Sunday running.



Screenshot of my running for the day


I was pretty happy with my first lap time 8:06 and I felt comfortable. I wanted to find a steady pace. The other day I did a mile in about seven minutes and change but could only last just over two miles. I ended up averaging per mile in the high eights.

Now halfway through mile two I started to feel it. I tried to alternate my stride to give the different muscles being used a rest. I don’t know if this is an actual thing but it felt like it was working. I use an app with headphones so it announces the lap number, overall time and current lap mile time.

“Lap two, seven minutes thirty-seven seconds”

What!? I was not expecting that. My time actually decreased. I was getting tired before hearing this but now I was motivated to push through and finish. My total time now was around 16 minutes so I figured I’ll finish one more mile plus as much as I could go for up to 30mins.


D68A7157-C9D7-42F8-8A13-AF326838F345.jpeg
the beautiful weather and the track


the final stretch

Now there’s another guy running on the track and so I’m using him as motivation too. I have no idea what his goal is or how fast he’s running or his pace but it seemed close to mine. His form was terrible though. Good thing I can’t see myself running. Because now I’m really feeling it when is going to tell me my third laps time...?

“Lap three, seven minutes”

What the what? Surprise surprise. It should always be overcast and foggy when I want to run.

The end.


This post also serves as my entry for the run for Steem challenge by @jumowa


Sort:  

να σου πω την αληθεια δε σε περιμενα να εισαι τοσο της αθλησης....ευχαριστη εκπληξη!!...χωρις προπονηση απορωπως μπορουν οι ανθρωποι....για μενα ειναι βασικο κομματι της ζωης μας ή θα πρεπει να ειναι ...καλημερα απο Ελλαδα..

Kalimera file! Simfonw! prepei o anthropos na gimnazete esto k ligaki... twra exw tin periergia na mou peis giati den perimenes na eimai tis athlisis xaxa?

ισως λογω των μαντιναδων....σε ειχα συνδιασει περισσοτερο του μεζε και της ρακης....οχι δηλαδη πως δε συμβαδιζουν καλοπεραση και αθλητισμος - μαλλον θα ελεγα συνεπαγεται το ενα το αλλο- αλλα ετσι το ειχα στο μυαλο μου :)
...ελπιζω να σε δω στο steemmonsters..αλλου ειδους αγωνισμα..
https://steemit.com/games/@funnel/steemmonsters-card-game

Katalaba. Maresei na blepw ton eauto mou ap ta matia alonon. Etsi mporw na mathw ton eauto mou k ton alon kalitera!

χαχαχαααα... τα γκομενακια πηγες να εντυπωσιάσει ε;;
Καλημέρα καλή βδομάδα..

Pia gkomenakia? Pou?? Den ta eida...

αυτα σε έβλεπαν όμως!! 👀👀👀👀👀👀👀

Xaxaxaxa ok mallon exeis dikio

Έλα πες την αλήθεια . Πείραξες την εφαρμογή για να σε ενθαρρύνει ε;
LOL !!!!!!!
Καλή συνέχεια !

Those are good times man. Did u correlate the app with the number if laps you made on the track?

Thanks bro. I’m referring to each mile as a lap. It’s a quarter mile track I think, so four track laps is about a mile. A mile is what the app was referring to as one lap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56