Run for Steem Challenge May 11th - May 18th - On the Trail Between Storms

in #runforsteem6 years ago

I squeezed a trail run in this morning between thunderstorms. It rained quite heavily last night and this morning, but it certainly knocked back the heat and humidity from yesterday. Despite the muddy conditions, I love running after a hard rain. There’s a softness of the forest that you don’t get in dry conditions.

43EBCD8A-C8EA-477B-8E73-AF43CF8798A5.jpeg

With the muddy conditions, you have to be even more deliberate about every foot placement, and that crowds out other thoughts pretty quickly. I’ve often thought of trail running as a moving meditation.

10A39C27-F46D-40B1-A5B8-33B5371BE3A1.jpeg

Today’s route was not quite as much elevation change as my normal routes, but with the conditions, I thought it would be best to avoid the steeps.

6EA1AA33-2DF5-457D-B9E0-AFBBC9C592DD.jpeg

Along the way I saw these huge mushrooms. Two days ago when I ran past this log, they weren’t there. It's amazing how yesterday’s heat and last night’s rain caused them to pop.

360B9487-4444-46C5-9BF6-49088C498940.jpeg

And the final leg of the run took me through a very green meadow.

38DA63CA-C156-4F74-9DA1-17004A39FAEB.jpeg

That’s this week’s entry for @jumowa’s #runforsteem change.
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-may-11th-may-18th-and-payout-for-last-week

#thealliance

CDD71C90-6E3B-492A-9871-FCD9FB7EFC2F.gif

245530FA-D3D8-451A-9A1A-2945559918D6.jpeg

Sort:  

Trailrunning is moving meditation - I LOVE it! As a matter of fact, I just spoke to Steve about that today, on the trail. The focus required IS meditative.

By the way, I had never met Steve before. :)

(edit to add - MAN I love that first photo. Is it crazy that I want to trip over some of those roots?)

Steve is a wise man. I love my trails rooty and rocky. Who is Steve? 🙃

I don't know, we just met that moment, stopped our runs to say hi. With any luck, I'll meet him again.

Our running shoes have magic in them- the power to transform a bad day into a good day; frustration into speed; self-doubt into confidence; chocolate cake into muscle. - Mina Samuels

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 16!
Resteemed by @runningproject

A good place to enjoy bring outdoors!

It is, indeed.

Looks like a pretty spot to run!

It’s very nice!

What a nice walk, certainly not easy to run after the rain but great to look at.
I also find the freshness after a cleansing thunderstorm very pleasant. You just shouldn't get caught in the next thunderstorm.

I was lucky. It started to rain just as I got back to my car.

I love, love, love the first shot (and the mushrooms) but, I will tell you that I broke my distal fibula in the forest running... well, the hole I ran into had a lot to do with it!

I am back to running, but, now I DO look down from time to time. Keep on running for your life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97