Memorial Day #runforsteem Run Report & Motivating Others in Their Fitness Journey

in #runforsteem6 years ago (edited)

20180528_194048.jpg
Happy Memorial Day to those who observe the day. My header photo shows you the storm rolling in after I was done running. Beautiful, no? The hale hitting my car on the way home wasn't though! This little display of flags was seen as well here at Lake George park. This park has a little Vietnam memorial and beside it some people had clearly decorated with these little flags as I had not seen them before.
20180528_190242.jpg
Just like one would expect, today was really hot! The incoming storm caused the weather to cool down drastically AFTER my run but prior to that...
20180528_190712.jpg
Some of you are aware of my issues with asthma. The warmer it is, the less likely I am to have asthmatic symptoms. In fact, I can't recall a time during the heat of summer that I did have asthma. So today, even though it was hot I had clear breathing. It was also humid though, so my overall pace was a bit slower. The first mile I ran with my boyfriend. He calls me his personal trainer and he is working hard to get into shape. For today's session, I challenged him to try and run one mile but to maintain "conversation pace" so that he could complete the entire mile. I estimated his mile time would probably be around 12 min/mile pace. However, he made it through in a breezy 10min 27sec!! Congrats to him!! I was/am so proud of him. After that I completed the additional three miles on my own while he walked around the inner .40mi path at the park.
20180528_185941.jpg
After that, I worked on some pushups. He also did some pushups. My upper body strength has never been great. I did 10 reps x 3 sets of pushups. I can do "real" pushups, but, believe it or not, even after working on pushups and increased upper body strength focus for the past THREE years; I still am unable to completely lower myself during a pushup! If any of my fitness buddies on here have any input, please advise!! We made time for selfies following working out. The incoming storm had whipped up a nice breeze.
20180528_191739.jpg
The park was really pretty today & we enjoyed working out. I really liked how the stormy clouds looked behind these trees. So beautiful...
20180528_193941.jpg
Since I have mentioned helping my boyfriend get in shape, which is also something I do for a living in physical therapy with primarily the elderly; we need to remember working out doesn't have to, nor should it be miserable. Exercise is a gift. If you are helping others get into shape make sure you remember that! People are more likely to be motivated to exercise if they don't view as a dreaded punishment.
20180528_190635.jpg
(Some cute flowers seen today)
This will serve as my weekly #runforsteem running report. This is an initiative by @jumowa. Please read his post for more details:
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/26th-runforsteem-payout-and-27th-runforsteem-challenge-may-26th-june-2nd

Thanks for visiting my blog & have a pleasant day (or night.)
20180516_024501.png

Sort:  

I have the best Personal Fitness Trainer of all time.

It makes me so happy that you can where these moments with your boyfriend! Gorgeous picture by the way!

Thank you so much my friend ♡

It's nice that they did the decoration! Never forget...
And it's great to have a work out buddy ;)

True on all accounts! =)

Great being able to work out together!

That's true! Thx for commenting =)
Happy Running!

Healthy people in a healthy relationship.

Glad your asthma is calming down for some warm weather running! And it's always fun to see a couple having a good time being fit together. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55