Allergies on the Run Don't Stop Me #runforsteem

in #runforsteem6 years ago

20180519_203333.jpg
Today I was feeling great & headed out for a run. About one mile in (total run time of 29:35), that familiar tickle in the back of my throat started up. That for me, an asthmatic of 17 years, is the sign of an incoming asthma attack. Despite the fact I have technically had asthma for quite sometime, I have gone through periods of which it was dormant and did not require medication. I'm thinking it has something to do with this new climate I am in and all those fragrant flowering trees!

I will be speaking with my new doctor about this on Monday because this attack lasted at least 20 minutes.

After the attack was under control, I did 15 reps x 4 of pushups & despite the attack, today I noticed some slight improvement in my pushup form which is huge because I typically lament how slow it's been for me to improve the pushups; which if done correctly are an overall workout for the abdominals, gluts, etc.

Afterwards, I indulged in this delicious 100% juice beverage.
20180519_215230.jpg
It contains 3 & 1/3 apples, 1 banana, 27 blueberries, and 3 blueberries. Delicious!

This will suffice for my #runforsteem posting initiated by @jumowa. Check his post below for all the rules:
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/25th-runforsteem-week-concluded-and-26th-runforsteem-week-may-18th-may-25th

Another thing I will mention that I haven't really before is that I try to always stretch after each run. Surprisingly, a lot of runners don't. I always make sure to hit the following groups: calves, gluts, hams, quads, IT band, piriformis, hip adductors (inner thighs), & ankle everters (muscles on the outside of the calf.) If you have questions about any of these stretches or think I missed one, please drop a line in the comments.

Thanks for reading & happy trails! (or roads, lol)
20180404_010520.png

Sort:  

Way to push through the attack! That’s got to be pretty scary.

Thanks, yeah it does suck, luckily the worst came towards the tail end of my run.

I’m sorry to hear about your asthma! My body isn’t made for running, but I’ve been doing lot of walking, and LOVING it! There is a paved trail that goes like 20ish miles....we’ve been doing 4-5 mile walks trying to build up to a 10 mile walk.

Thanks. That sounds like a cool trail! 4-5 miles is great & I am sure you'll build up to that ten miler soon enough. Look forward to hearing about it. =)

Good work, and I agree stretching after a run is really important and a lot of runners know they should do it an don't.
Keep up the good work.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thanks, hopefully theze allergies will soon go away

Nothing can stop a consistent Runner.
@runningproject

Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44