My Impressions About Rumelian Castle

in #rumelian7 years ago (edited)

rumelian-castle-5.jpg

Rumelian Castle is an old castle in Istanbul/Turkey. I visited the castle for the first time. I will share some photos with you and details that are interesting to me.

The castle was built in 1452 by the Ottoman Empire. The area covered by the castle and its landscape is 30.000 square meters. Today it is a museum and the entrance fee is 10 YTL.

rumelian-castle-3.jpg

The castle was built in the narrowest part of the Bosphorus.

rumelian-castle-4.jpg

The stairs of the castle are very steep. The steps are very narrow and curved... and there is no stair rails. For this reason, some people were crawling on the stairs. If you want to don't fall, go crawling... no problem. It was something else that was interesting to me. I saw some ornaments where it should not be there.

First one:
something-on-the-floor.jpg

What is it? An ornament carved on the marble. But other stones on the floor are not marble. As a result of my research, I learned that the stones used for castle construction were brought from various parts of Anatolia. I took Art History course at school but I'm not an expert. So I do not know the origin of the ornament. I'm just asleep to take its photo... And I think it has not been photographed before.

Second:
something-on-the-stairs.jpg

Here is a step that does not belong there. This is made of marble, too. These stones may have been brought here from somewhere else... or there was another building here before (but I do not think so).

Third is an old minaret:
an-old-minaret.jpg

I was interested in this old minaret. It has not been restored. Its architecture resembles Seljuk architecture. Maybe early Ottoman minarets looked like this, I'm not sure.

What are your ideas?

Sort:  

Nice one! I'm very fond of old castles too.

Thank you friend :)

Wow!! Castles are very nice..

Thank you for comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65