BECOME an AMERICAN. Смена ментальностиsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ru7 years ago

When I came to USA, as probably every immigrant, I wondered what is American mentality, when and how people become American.

I tried really hard to understand what is in my colleagues' head. How they grew, what implied to their thoughts and their lives. I even watched old Beverly Hills tv-show, because my co-workers watched this when they were teenagers.

I'm pretty sure that every immigrant becomes American on his own way and in the most cases this process is not noticeable at all.

But I know the moment when I realized what my brain is switched to a new path.

It was a peaceful Sunday, Aug 24th 2014. I drank my coffee while watching TV, when TV-News started to talk about Earthquake in Napa and my response was "I need to drive to Napa for Help". That earthquake removed all Sunday plans behind it.

and I realized what I'm American now. Driving to be a volunteer, ruin own plans because somebody needs help, putting common interests on top of own - these all make ordinary people Americans.

I grew up in a poor country and we simply don't have the luxury to work without money. No one could work as a volunteer because every day we needed to pay our bills. What is why it's not a common situation when somebody could go to help others for free.

Do believe me, this is a huge difference between Russians and Americans. Helping other unknown people for free is a common practice in US, in the same moment, we, in Russia, only help friends and our families in most cases. We even have a proverb about "You own shirt is closer to your body"

2014_South_Napa_quake_-_Stones_Fallen_From_Face_of_Sam_Kee_-_1_(15014707736).jpg
pic source

Text in Russian

Когда я приехала в Америку, я все пыталась понять, в чем же различие между нашими ментальностями, что делает американцев американцами. Я также пыталась понять какое масло в головах моих сотрудников и даже смотрела старый Беверли Хилс сериал, потому что мои коллеги сплошь и рядом росли под него.

Я понимаю, что у каждого эмигранта этот процесс свой и часто незаметный, но я знаю точный момент когда я поняла что мои мозги сдвинулись в эту сторону.

Это было воскреснее утро 24-го Августа 2014-го. Я пила кофе, лениво поглядывая на телевизор, когда в новостях объявили о 6-ти бальном землятресении в Напе. И вот было интересно, что я мгновенно, без секундв раздумий решила ехать туда на помощь. Отодвинув все воскресные планы, невзирая на все. Поставив интересы других выше своих собственных

Я росла в бедной стране, и у нас волонтерство не развито, потому что практически никто не имеет роскоши работать без денег. Но каждый работает за деньги, чтобы оплачивать все счета.

И вот здесь и проходит та линия, что отделяет американцев от русских. Американцы всегду придут на помощь чужим незнакомым людям, пожертвовав своими интересами и абсолютно бесплатно при этом. Русские же помогают только друзьям и своим семьям. Со всех остальных будут ожидать какую-то плату за помощь. У нас даже есть пословица "Своя рубашка ближе к телу"


Follow me1_logo_sm.png

Sort:  

Украинский вариант - "Моя хата з краю"

это правда... нас жизнь приучила спрашивать "а таки шо мне с этого будет?"

Kgb girl, living the life in america.

I guess kgb ended in 1991 when USSR was ruined.

Now it's another company with name FSS or federal security service.
I came to US in 2010

You are going to need more time on steemit to be catching up with me, and how come i havent vote for this one yet? You didnt send me this link.

I try to send links which are will be paid in a short time, because I'm now really short in SBD.
I try to get upvotes for posts which would return money shortly. If it's a wrong strategy?

Usualy I spend on steemit a lot of time, say from 8am till 12am. the last 2 day were exclusion: yesterday was rafting and I recovered after this yesterday night and today.

How is your regular business doing? You spend a lot of time here now

my cell phone will txt me whenever someone send sbd and i can just send them vote right there, when im on a job.

I will, when I get some SBD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57567.29
ETH 2568.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50