You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curating the Internet: Science and technology digest for November 27, 2019

in #rsslog5 years ago

"... (AI) systems will soon be as cognitively sophisticated as dogs or mice..."

Wake me up when that happens. I vehemently disagree extant technology approaches anything of the kind, and the practically infantile grasp of what consciousness even is mirrors our brutally simplistic technology compared to natural living things. The most advance AI today isn't even a fraction of the complexity and advanced integration of a single cell. Far from dogs and mice, extant AI is so far below even the independent capacity of Archaea, relics from the earliest expression of life on Earth, that the attainment of relative parity remains presently inconceivable. I don't think I've read a better example of hubris in science.

"...committees will judge all current AI research permissible."

I do not foresee a global totalitarian jurisdiction eventuating anytime in the foreseeable future competent to prevent research from being permitted outside their jurisdiction, or despite it.

The next article reveals just how crude AI remains at even parsing debate.

The last article seems to not acknowledge factory backdoors, and how Chrome facilitates surveillance by Goolag, but I'll have a read at the source, and comment further there. I note the nearly existential potential of biometric ID to harm individuals when malicious actors gain that data. India has inadvertantly revealed their biometric ID system has caused enormous suffering when victims very biometric data was used to profit bad actors.

Thanks!

Sort:  

I had similar thoughts about the first article. My reaction was stronger at the beginning, when I thought they were suggesting legal protections, but it tapered off when I realized that they seemed to be mostly referring to institutional standards.

I agree about global enforcement for AI ethical standards. We see something similar already with some of the genetic research coming out of places like China.

I was also sort-of surprised by the inclusion of chromebook in the list in the last article, just because of Google's overall data-grabiness, but I'm not very familiar with the chromebook, so I didn't reach any conclusions. Good point about the extreme danger from compromise of biometric data, too.

Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67350.62
ETH 2656.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69