You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curating the Internet: Science and technology micro-summaries for September 27, 2019

in #rsslog5 years ago

As always, interesting links.

I note that mental health 'therapy' is discussed only in relation to Western Civilization in the linked article. In various cultures, such maladies have been 'treated' differently, including venerating the deranged as prophets. Fortunately, it seems that treatment of the mentally ill has at least become less harmful generally in the West. People seem to have forgotten the origin of the word bedlam, and while I do not advocate forgetfulness, I am pleased that such circumstances are impacting folks far less nowadays.

Thanks!

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply! You're right that the Steem post came from a western perspective. It actually did include brief but interesting coverage of Bedlam, but I didn't bring that forward into my summary because I had already written more words than I like to include for this series of posts. I agree that it's good that conditions have improved for many people who are impacted by behavioral issues, and I hope things will continue to improve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63167.88
ETH 3372.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45