You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curating the Internet: Science and technology micro-summaries for September 13, 2019

in #rsslog5 years ago

Once again a very nice selection! I am quite skeptical with the second selected article, especially because of the 'human' factor... But this is maybe just me...

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback! I sort-of agree about the second one. I had a mixed reaction to the video. On one hand, at the policy level it's almost certainly easier to change actions than beliefs, so the change in definition makes sense to me. But on the other hand, I kept wondering what he's going to do about Goodhart's Law: When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.

I am confronted with racism mostly every day, being a foreigner in a European country where the extreme right wing is getting stronger stronger (although I am not really the primary target of the racists, so that my experience may be softer than the one of others). I see things changing and evolving in the good way, but I also see a large number of people who refuse to evolve. For that reason, I do not think we are ready for that. Sadly...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69