You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curating the Internet: Science and technology micro-summaries for October 3, 2019

in #rsslog5 years ago

Thanks for featuring my post! I have actually also found the second one interesting. It sounds a bit weird and complicated to put in place, to my own taste :)

Sort:  

I agree that I like the second one, but it would be challenging to put it in place. Lanier has been developing this line of argument for years.

Two obvious challenges: First, I'm not sure how you convince people to start paying for something that they're already getting for free (although Cable TV and Netflix both managed to do that in their own times.). And second, in theory I really like the data-broker idea. But in practice (aside from quantum computing) once someone has access to your data I don't know how you stop them from continuing to use it and ducking out on the royalty payments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47