You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curating the Internet: Science and technology micro-summaries for September 21, 2019

in #rsslog5 years ago

Regarding "STEM & DIY". It has long been known that using both visual and hands on approaches to learning magnifies the brains ability to learn and it amazes me that schools still use the outdated approach of a teacher reading from a book and writing on a board while the students watch. How ironic is it that the education system never seems to learn!!

Sort:  

I think you're right. My mom was a teacher, and I remember her telling me about the need to incorporate multiple learning approaches as far back as the '70s or '80s. She even created a board game to help the kids in her class learn math that she had hoped to market, but sadly never got around to it.

But, the schools adapt slowly, which is why I think articles like the one in the post are still vital.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44