You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curating the Internet: Science and technology micro-summaries for July 30, 2019

in #rsslog5 years ago

I was curious about Libra when I heard about it...but that was until I read about it. Libra, to me, is almost literally everything I don't want out of the blockchain/cryptocurrency revolution. And Facebook being the irresponsible and far over-reaching company they are, I'll likely take no part in it.

Now, we need some legitimate blockchain-based social networking projects to get people away from that corporate monstrosity.

Sort:  

I don't particularly like the KYC aspect, but that's becoming unavoidable. It's just the nature of regulators, I guess. I was also disappointed that it is planned to launch as a permissioned block chain. But if they eventually switch to permissionless - as documented, I'll give it a second look.

It's also quite a coincidence that their logo is fairly similar to a sideways copy of the Steem logo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47