Does anyone use RSS anymore?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #rss7 years ago (edited)

I just got a mail from a person who liked my comic and he asked if I could implement a RSS-feed on the page. My page update, where I am to implement a multi-language option, is not finished so I think I am going to throw in a RSS-button just as a service, but it did make me wonder how many people actually use RSS anymore?


Look at that beautiful RSS logo I just made...

So do you use RSS, have you used it, do you know a lot of people who do? I hope to have many interesting answers :)

Sort:  

Well at least one person uses it! Haha, seriously though, I have the Chrome extension, however, I never use it... Can't do any harm I suppose

Cg

I have two. @kidsysco is going to use it too :)

it's good for discovery. just because it's not talked about as much it's certainly used to aggregate content. i use it all the time for a variety of things and even bond rss feeds together - i use feedly and flipboard, i'd love it if popular, trending and hot had an rss feed i could sub to actually.

Yes, that is a good point. Steemit would be easier to keep track of for people who do not know how to write a voting-bot! I sometimes forget about some of the very good content-makers and even though we have a whole week now, I forget to vote for their stuff. RSS might be an easy solution to that... if it existed :)

i don't think it's that hard to do and i'm sure one of the spin off services does it, after all i can get my rss feed to my posts which i auto post to twitter so doing it for whole categories must be fairly easy. i'll investigate! - for instance - https://streemian.com/rss/@teamhumble is my rss feed for my posts --- ah more detail is here -- https://streemian.com/rss/info

Cool, then I will investigate how to get it on my comic-page :)

roger that! :) have a nice day - i decided to write a post on it, coming shortly! :)

Did Streemian die and are there alternatives yet?

Because RSS is really simple... to install, do it please.

It is very handy for things that update occasionally or irregularly.
It also saves on server bandwidth from checking for updates.

I will, I have decided and even made the icon :)

I still use RSS feeds for getting data for things like this and this, but thay may be abuse rather than use. It's still a handy input format for all sorts of things in combination with AJAX.

OK, that's one more. I am considering using it myself as the guy who wrote me said it was useful when following webcomics. But he was a data-scientist as far as I understood, so I am sure I will not offend him by placing him in the nerd folder.

I'll say "hi" when I meet him there.

I use NetVibes RSS Reader after Google Reader died off. I think when Google gave up on RSS, so did most everyone else. There are still a few feeds that are supported on certain sites I like, so I still use it weekly. I actually use it for comics and tracking original comic book art trading hands in art galleries.

If your comic were available in my reader, I would add it!

Cool, that's two then :) I will add as soon as I have gotten my head around how it is done.

I've used it off and on over the years. I started with Bloglines in 2003, then migrated to FeedDemon, then Google Reader, then Netvibes, then Feedly and now Inoreader, which I think is the best.

Social media sites took a huge audience away from RSS readers.

However, I think there's a resurgence of interest in RSS due to Facebook and Twitter thinking they know what news is best for you. As of 2015, Feedly had 15 million active users.

Nothing gives you control over your news feed like RSS.

Actually, after doing the RSS-page for my site I have begun using it myself. I just use Akregator as I am a KDE-Linux user.

I still use RSS about 3-4 times a week. Mostly for keeping up with personal blogs, and finding new recipes. Although I subscribe to a lot of Subreddits and Youtube channels that way as well.

after having written this post I actually use RSS a lot now. Webcomics, blogs and steemit... Steemit rss can be found on streemian

I use it sometimes and how do I get one for Steemit?

There used to be a site that collected a rss stream from the blockchain. I used it and was very content, but sadly they closed the site and now there is nothing... at least as far as I know.

You might be talking about Streemians.com which, last time I checked, died, discontinued, yeah, like you said.I was able to make an RSS feed for my Steemit here, still, and that is good.

Yes, that was it!

So when you say that you have made your own RSS feed you mean you have made a script that search the block-chain?

I went to a website that made an RSS feed of my Steem posts. I got the link to that feed and included it in my posts for people to click on to then subscribe to live bookmarks. Upvoted. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90