Rock Paper Scissors logo contest entry #003

in #rps-logo7 years ago

Good morning, Steemit! I’m going to be active on here today, making up for a strange phenomenon that occurred last night. Around 9:30p.m., after getting @guthrie to bed, I laid down and pass the fuck out until the next day! That hasn’t happened in almost 10 years […unless I had the flu]. I just felt tired, went with it, and slept! I woke up feeling great and came straight to work after dropped the child off at school. My batteries and full and I started the day with another submission for the Rock Paper Scissors @peerplays contest! I’ve also got some new photography to share this afternoon, and if all goes well, a drawing/announcement post I hope to be ready by tonight.

Here’s my latest iteration of the #RPS-logo contest entry. This one I decided to go the traditional “…one, two, three, go!” move with actual hands. The previous contest entries, I used simple design elements, like a paper crane and paperclip to represent “paper”. This one I wanted to be straight forward. The biggest challenge would be keeping this simple, because hands do not read well as silhouettes, especially when balled up in to a fist, or flat for that matter. I decided to go with linework. I took some reference photos of my own hands and drew these on my iPad Pro with Apple Pencil and Procreate.

Once I had the line work finished, I AirDropped it to my MacBook Pro and started playing with design elements in Photoshop. I mentioned in my last post that I sourced dozens of Silicon Valley startup logos to land on a color scheme seen in “Rock Paper Scissors logo contest entry #002”. For this one, I went straight to the Pacatum Inc. website and took color notes from there.

As I’ve said, working on this project has allowed me to exercise creative muscles that’ve gotten soft since I fully transitioned from apparel design to photography full time. It’s great to limber up my brain and return to a medium I love. 

Thanks for reading! I’ll be making at least one more post today. I do post often so for more art, design, photography and illustration, follow me @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Always choose rock. What people don't understand is that rock can also tear paper.

The more I look at it, the more I like it. More than the previous ones.

Thank you @m31! Great feedback. I think so, too.

Glad you had a good nights rest and were able to fuel up your creativity some more! Hugs your way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81