Winter Dreaming ... NOT! Time To Focus On Summer Projects!

in #roses6 years ago

Cold ... Cold and more Cold - right til the end of the month. Highs of -14 to -23 with lows to -31. Good grief - what happened?

My furnace went out 6 days ago and the repair man is still waiting for parts. Thank goodness we have a wood stove for back up heat!

Miss my rose garden terribly this time of year - so thought I'd cheer up with a few pics of my garden.

IMG_5051 [905217].jpeg
All of my roses are fragrant roses imported from England. This one's called Just Joey.

IMG_4739 [904708].jpeg
And this one's named "William" - forgot the rest of his name on his tag.

Violets.jpg
Violets seem to be one of the first flowers out in my garden in spring.

1436032513324.jpg
Even this delicate but robust climber is scented. It blooms profusely but the blossoms only last a max of 2 days before the petals fall off, making way for new ones to open right away.

1439510045038.jpg

I find that usually if I plant nasturtiums at the base of my roses, it helps to keep the roots cool especially if the roses are planted in a hot location. The nasturtiums also have the added benefit of giving off a peppery scent that seem to keep the aphids away! So .... bug-free roses! Yay!!!

Nasturtiums are members of the water cress family and the leaves and flower can be added to salads for a dash of color and they add a peppery flavor - yum!

OK ... time to start planning where I'm going to plant what this summer .... have a wonderful day everyone!

Sort:  

Congratulations @freedom2grow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello SteemitBoard! - Thank you for the badges and the vote!

Hello @ngans ... thank you for the kind comments about my photos! They are images of my own roses from my own garden.

Hello Oldtimer - thank you for the vote! Looking forward to seeing more of your adventures :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72