I love Root Beer Floats! At downtown A&W with familysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #root-beer7 years ago

I rarely drink soda and I don't drink soda from a can or bottle, but I will walk down the street a few blocks, to enjoy an A&W Root Beer Float served in a frosty mug.

IMG_8412.JPG

The root beer is made daily and they use soft serve vanilla Ice Cream. The floats are so delicious.

IMG_8410.JPG

It only takes us a few minutes to walk down to this original car hop restaurant from our house.

IMG_8403.JPG

IMG_8404.JPG

Daniel learned to drink out of a straw at this A&W restaurant and both Harvey and Daniel enjoy Root Beer as much as I do.

IMG_8418.JPG

IMG_8423.JPG

I'm @runridefly, and I rarely walk down to this downtown Visalia landmark, because I would weigh 500 pounds as much as I love their root beer floats.

Sort:  

I like them when the ice cream is very melty, soft serve is great in black cherry soda too.


www.youtube.com/watch?v=JytO0DFxzis

@lifeworship, I just wish they put a little more ice cream in my mug. I like to drink that melted ice cream with the root beer.

Birch beer and spruce beer are also excellent.

A & W is classic. Even though I try and stay away from soda, I'm not against having it every once in a while and with a float at that place it would have to be an exception. Thanks for sharing the time out and pics.

It has been months since I enjoyed a float, but I worked hard yesterday so @luvbnamome bought me a root beer float. So delicious.

Root beer floats are bomb, man. You ever had a regular beer float? It's disgusting.

Upvoted

@shayne

@shayne, that sounds so disgusting. Thank you for the support and Steem On Dude!

I didn't know root beer floats!

You never heard of a root beer float? Dude, you go get yourself some vanilla ice cream, a couple cans of root beer and have at it.

Ah, the good ol' days, cruising Alameda Blvd in San Jose (Lalaland)...drive-ins nearly every block... I miss the 50s!

I miss the good ol' days as well. My dad drove 30s-50s cars so I felt like i was in the 50s. @dragon40, steem on dude!

My dad bought a '57 Bel Air SS convertable in 1957...the beginning of my sr. year in HS...and, when he was in a good mood, he'd let me drive it to school. What a chick magnet, particularly on a California friday night, cruzing the strip:
(Driving local pols in a parade, Santa Clara, California, Summer, 1958)

That is a beautiful car and I love that color.

My dad had a few hardtop 55 and 57 chevys, but our family car was a 50 chevy hardtop deluxe with a 350 and Muncie 4 speed. Every car was a hot rod. My mom drove a 55 chevy to work and it was an ex drag car.

Dad had a 55 Chevy business coupe for work (I learned to drive in a 56 Ford wagon column shift). The 57 went like a bat out of hell, but wouldn't stop worth a damn after the drums heated up. I bought a 51 MGTD in 1959, and loved driving it over the SS...different strokes, eh?

I miss A&W Root Beer. I can't find it in Dalian. They got Bargs in a few import shops but it's just not the same.

@solarguy, the root beer is made in the restaurant so it's especially delicious. My step dad drinks all kinds of different brands of root beer, but never A&W root beer. What's up with that?

A new concept for me! We don't have that in our country but it could be a great idea for a new model business 🙂
I'm sure its taste it's pretty good.

@dresden, go get yourself some root beer and vanilla ice cream, and enjoy it in a frosty mug. You wilo enjoy it.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.16 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 30 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I used to love them. Used to because there used to be A&W in Singapore. Not anymore. Still can get the A&W cans of root beer from supermarket. Just got to make our own float.

@ace108, you will have to make them soon. They are so delicious.

I do so off and on. Guess the time is due. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39