Sci-Fi Story: Cool Jump (English/Turkish)

in #roman6 years ago (edited)

My cousin Tugberk said, "Cough like a grown man".

I gathered all my courage and jumped into the pool from the third floor of the trampoline. I was hanging in the air a few inches before I got into the water. Of course, I was surprised. I've never heard of or experienced anything like that in my life. I was quarantined in a transparent sphere. I was floating freely in the air like astronauts at Space Station. I tried to get into the water by moving my arms and legs awkwardly. The inner surface of the invisible sphere was preventing me from doing so. I wondered if I'm dead. I was only 15 years old; it wasn’t fair. Right after the incident, my memories revived in my mind. Zeynep kissed me in the dressing room on the beach; there was salt on her lips. I had seven scoops of ice cream while I was hoping for three scoops at the guesthouse I visited. On a day when I was in the open sea, I have seen a baby dolphin swimming with her mother. If I were dead, the world outside wouldn't be the same.

Uzay was preparing to jump into the pool from the fourth floor of the trampoline. He waved his curly hair and showed his muscles to the surrounding audience. He jumped right over me. If we collided, I'd be hurt, but at least the both of us would be in the water together. Uzay passed through me and fell into the water. After getting on the surface of the water, he started swimming towards the edge of the pool with his artistic style. Since Uzay jumped directly onto me, the people around didn't see me. I was feeling a lot of remorse. I had this dream of jumping from the third floor of the trampoline. How much I struggled with myself to make this jump, how much I forced myself. By taking power from the inner surface of the sphere, I started to glide right and left in the non-gravitational mini-universe, and I began to flip. I could have enjoyed this game better if I knew I could get out of here anytime I wanted to. Maybe I was in a big soap bubble, and that stuff would blow up after a while. There was no color, no light on the surface of the sphere surrounding me; it was clear that it was made of invisible material. I started to scream out loud. Unfortunately, people didn’t hear me. I thought I was in a dream. The thought of the dream made me very happy. How I couldn’t think of this before, this kind of nonsense would only happen in dreams.

I felt like I was transforming into a much more mature person when I was trying to wake myself up. My mind began to evolve. I felt like a man at my father's age. I had a great burden on my shoulders, an enormous pain in my heart. I was in a white hospital room; I had a serum on my arm, there were two monitors next to my bed, one about the heartbeat, and the other for something else I didn't understand. I've been sick of being in hospitals for years, and my illness hasn't healed, and it's gotten worse every year. I asked about euthanasia many times because my illness was fatal, but my family didn’t accept. As the technology is developing rapidly, my disease could be cured any time soon. So, I decided to take care of myself. I pushed my mind so hard for the power to enforce my decision. I gathered all my courage, stood up and ripped out the serum from my arm. Blood was leaking from the point where the needle was removed. As I walked towards the window, I noticed that the bed and the devices attached came with me. I took the tape out of my arm. I was out of bed now. I saw the reflection of my face on the window. Over the years, half of my hair had whitened, and my eyes had wrinkles. It doesn’t matter anymore, I thought. I climbed up to the only window in the room that could be opened, and I left myself in the void. It took a long time to fall from the eighth floor.

I hung in the air just a few inches before my body touched the ground. As my father-year-old self didn’t remember my last swimming experience, I was surprised. After the sudden surprise of my father-year-old self, our experience has been combined. Now I could feel that my mind reflects the average age of my life. When I was falling, I was wearing a hospital gown, it slipped, and I was totally nude. I remembered from my pool experience that when I was in my bubble universe, people didn't see or hear me. As I jumped from the back side of the hospital, it wasn't crowded. Just a nice-faced nurse and an old lady with a cane passed by without seeing me. A curly furry dog approached me with his tail waving. After looking straight at my body for a while trying to figure out, started licking my wounded arm. By the way, I realized that my body was entirely rejuvenated, and I could have been in the 20s.

“The system drops them to our screens when they show extreme behavior that doesn't match with their character.”

I looked around with amazement, but I didn't see anybody talking.

“It looks very complicated” the younger woman replied.

“Do you think it would be good to paint my body with the coating that feels like the water is running over my body?” the first woman asked.

"I love the ones with LED lights on them; they look more natural on my skin. What are we gonna do with this guy, he's just hanging there in the air” the younger woman answered.

These two women were talking about me, and I was listening to their speeches carefully.

“If I were a new operator, I would have killed this man for jumping from the eighth floor. However, there is another file attached from his age of 15, the first file must be processed through this” said the first woman.

“Turn me back to the age of 15 and let me fall into the pool,” I said in an angry voice.

"Can they talk to us?" the young woman asked.

"Yes, I'm talking, I don't know what kind of work you're doing, and I'm not interested; can you put aside body paint, LED lights and leave me free?”.

“They don't like the quarantine of the program, let's do it,” the first woman said.

The young woman was supposed to be an intern, but the other woman seemed to be an expert.

“While you're at it, will you rescue me suffering from the deadly disease in the future?”I said. I was trying my luck.

"That would be a violation of the rules" she answered.

I shouted, “Do your work.”

“This is how we can reduce disease tendencies from the menu of deadly diseases,” she described to the trainee next to her.

“Thank you, can I fall into the pool now?” I said.

“There's no guarantee that you won't get sick. I just reduced the possibility. I gave you a privilege because you are a child" she answered.

I didn't get a balanced jump from the trampoline, and when I fell into the water, it hurt.

“It is cool but insufficient. If you're a grown man, you'll jump from the fourth floor,” said my cousin Tugberk.

“That's enough excitement for me today,” I answered.

Image Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/BRkikoNP0KQ

star-wars-2369317_1920.png

Kuzenim Tuğberk "erkek gibi öksür" demişti.

Tüm cesaretimi toplayıp tramplenin üçüncü katından havuza atladım. Suya girmeme birkaç santim kala havada asılı kaldım. Şaşırdım tabii. 15 yıllık hayatımda ne böyle bir şey duymuş ne de yaşamıştım. Saydam bir küre içinde karantina altında alınmış gibiydim. Uzay istasyonundaki astronotlar gibi havada serbestçe süzülüyordum. Kollarımı ve bacaklarımı acemice hareket ettirerek suya inmeye çalıştım. Çevremi saran görünmez kürenin iç yüzeyi buna engel oluyordu. ‘Acaba öldüm mü’ diye düşündüm. Havada asılı kaldıktan hemen sonra zihnimde anılarım canlanmıştı. Zeynep plajdaki soyunma kabininde beni öpmüştü; dudaklarında tuz tadı vardı. Bizimkilerle birlikte gittiğim misafirlikte üç top beklerken önüme yedi top dondurma konulmuştu. Denizde çok açıldığım bir gün yanımdan annesiyle birlikte yavru bir yunus geçmişti. Haylaz Tuğberk sırtımdan içeriye kocaman bir kartopu sokmuştu, üşüyüp ürpermiştim. Ölmüş olsam dışarıdaki dünya aynı kalmazdı herhalde diye düşündüm. Uzay, tramplenin dördüncü katından havuza atlamaya hazırlanıyordu. Kıvırcık saçlarını sallayıp kaslarını çevredeki seyircilere gösterdi. Tam üzerime doğru balıklama atladı. Çarpışmış olsak belki canım yanardı ama en azından ikimiz birlikte suya düşerdik. Uzay içimden geçip suya düştü. Suyun yüzeyine çıktıktan sonra, artistik stiliyle havuzun kenarına doğru yüzmeye başladı. Uzay doğrudan üzerime atladığına göre çevredekiler beni görmüyordu. İçimi yoğun bir pişmanlık duygusu kapladı. Bunca zaman tramplenin üçüncü katından atlamanın hayalini kurduktan sonra başıma bu iş gelmişti. Bu atlayışı yapabilmek için kendimle ne kadar mücadele etmiş, sağlamcı karakterimi ne çok zorlamıştım. Kürenin iç yüzeyinden güç alarak yerçekimsiz mini evrenimde sağa sola süzülmeye, taklalar atmaya başladım. İstediğim zaman buradan çıkabileceğimi bilsem bu oyunun tadını daha iyi çıkarabilirdim. Belki de kocaman bir sabun köpüğünün içindeydim, bu meretler bir süre sonra patlardı. Çevremi saran kürenin yüzeyinde ne bir renk, ne de bir ışıltı vardı gerçi, görünmeyen bir malzemeden yapıldığı anlaşılıyordu. Avazım çıktığı kadar bağırmaya başladım. Çevredekiler ne yazık ki beni görmedikleri gibi duymuyorlardı da. Yaşadığım dehşet duygusu bana tanıdık geldi, galiba bir rüyadayım diye düşündüm. Bu düşünce beni çok sevindirdi. Bunu daha önce nasıl düşünememiştim, bu tür saçmalıklar ancak rüyalarda olurdu.

Telkin yoluyla kendimi uyandırmaya çalışırken çok daha olgun bir insana dönüşmekte olduğumu hissettim. Dış dünyayla iletişimimin engellenmesi yetmiyormuş gibi zihnim de başkalaşmaya başladı. Kendimi babam yaşında bir adam gibi hissediyordum. Omuzlarımda büyük bir yük, yüreğimde acı vardı. Beyaz bir hastane odasındaydım, koluma serum takılıydı, yatağımın yanında biri kalp atışımı, diğeri ne olduğunu anlamadığım başka şeyleri gösteren iki monitör vardı. Yıllardır hastanelerde sürünmekten bıkmıştım, hastalığım bir türlü iyileşmediği gibi her geçen yıl daha kötüye gitmişti. Hastalığım ölümcül olduğu için kaç kez ötenazi istemiştim ama ailem razı olmuyordu. Teknoloji hızla gelişiyormuş, hastalığımın çaresi her an bulunabilirmiş. Ben de kendi işimi kendim görmeye karar vermiştim. Kararımı uygulayacak gücü toplamak için kendimle çok mücadele etmiştim. Tüm cesaretimi toplayarak yerimden doğruldum ve kolumdaki serumu söküp çıkardım. İğnenin çıktığı yerden kan sızıyordu. Pencereye doğru yürürken yatağın ve ona bağlı cihazların da benimle birlikte geldiğini fark ettim. Göğsüme yapıştırdıkları zamazingoları ve kolumdaki bandı çıkardım. Artık yataktan kurtulmuştum. Pencerenin camında yüzümün yansımasını gördüm. Geçen yıllar içinde saçlarımın yarısı beyazlamış, gözlerimin kenarı kırışmıştı. Gerçi artık bunların fazla önemi yoktu. Odadaki açılabilen tek pencerenin pervazına tırmandım ve kendimi boşluğa bıraktım. Sekizinci kattan yere düşmek epey uzun sürüyormuş. Vücudumun yere değmesine birkaç santim kala havada asılı kaldım. Babam yaşımdaki halim 15 yaşımdaki halimin yaşadığı havuz atlayışı deneyimini hatırlamıyor olmalıydı, şaşırdı zira. Babam yaşındaki halimin yaşadığı anlık şaşkınlıktan sonra deneyimlerimiz birleşti. Şimdi benliğimin, her yaşımdaki hallerimin ortalamasını yansıttığını hissedebiliyordum. Düşerken üzerimdeki hastane giysisi sıyrılıp çıkmış, anadan üryan kalmıştım. Havuz deneyimimden, kabarcık evrenimin içindeyken insanların beni görmediğini ve duymadığını hatırlıyordum, ama belli olmazdı elbette. Hastanenin arka tarafına atladığım için ortalık fazla kalabalık değildi. Sadece güzel yüzlü bir hemşireyle bastonlu yaşlı bir teyze yanımdan beni görmeden ağır adımlarla geçtiler. Kıvırcık tüylü bir köpek, kuyruğunu sallayarak yanıma yaklaştı. Bir süre vücuduma anlamaya çalışır gibi dik dik baktıktan sonra, kan sızan kolumu yalamaya başladı. Bu arada vücudumun epeyce gençleşmiş olduğunu fark ettim, bedenim yirmili yaşlarda olabilirdi.

“Karakterlerine hiç uymayan uç davranışlar sergilediklerinde sistem programlarını kontrol için önlerimize düşünüyor” dedi bir kadın.

Şaşkınlıkla çevreme bakındım ama konuşan kimseyi göremedim.

Sesinden daha genç olduğunu çıkardığım başka bir kadın, “Çok karışık görünüyor” diye cevap verdi.

“Vücudun üzerinden su akıyormuş izlenimi yaratan vücut boyalarından yaptırsam bana yakışır mı sence?” diye sordu ilk konuşan kadın.

“Üzerleri led ışıklı olanları daha çok seviyorum ben, tenimin üzerinde daha doğal duruyor. Bu adamı ne yapacağız şimdi, orada öylece havada asılı kalmış”.

Bu iki kadın benden söz ediyordu, konuşmalarını can kulağıyla dinlemeye başladım.

“Acemi bir operatör olsa bu adamı, sekizinci kattan atlamış olduğu için öldürüverirdi şimdi. Oysa dosyasının bağlı olduğu 15 yaşına ait bir başka dosya daha var, ilk dosya üzerinden işlem yapmak gerekir” dedi kadın.

Cevap almayı hiç ummadan “Beni 15 yaşına döndürün ve bırakın havuzun içine düşeyim artık” diye bağırdım.

“Bunlar bizimle konuşabiliyor mu?” diye sordu genç kadın.

“Evet, belli ki konuşuyorum, nasıl bir iş çevirdiğinizi bilmiyorum, ilgilenmiyorum da; vücut boyasını, led ışıklarını filan bir kenara bırakıp beni artık serbest bırakır mısınız” diye bağırdım.

“Programlarının karantina altına alınmasından hiç hoşlanmıyorlar, halledelim şunun işini” dedi ilk konuşan kadın.

Genç kadın stajyer olmalıydı, hiçbir şeyden anlamadığı her halinden belliydi, ama öteki kadın ise işinin ehli gibiydi.

“Eliniz değmişken kırkımdan sonra hastanelerde sürünmemi de engeller misiniz?” diyerek yeniden şansımı denedim.

“Kurallara aykırı bir müdahale olur bu?” diye cevap verdi kadın.

“Tatava yapmayın, işimi hallediverin” diye bağırdım, canıma tak etmişti artık.

“Ölümcül hastalıklar menüsünden hastalık eğilimlerini böyle azaltabiliyoruz” diye tarif etti kadın yanındaki stajyere.

“Teşekkür ederim, artık havuza düşebilir miyim?”.

“Hasta olmamanın garantisi yok, sadece olasılığı azalttım. Çocuklara ayrıcalıklı muamele yapabiliyoruz” dedi kadın.

Tramplenden dengeli atlayamamışım, suya düştüğümde çok canım yandı.

“Erkeksen dördüncü kattan atlarsın” dedi kuzenim Tuğberk.

“Çok biliyorsan sen atla, bana bu kadar heyecan yeter” diye cevap verdim.

Sort:  

There is no comparison of your stories
I'm a continuous reader of sci-fi novel unlimited debate. I love to read that continuous story blog.
This story is also awesome.
First jump in the pool it is really scary.
First time when I jumped into river it was so scary to me.
But after the jump I enjoyed swimming
What about your experience ???
did you tried it!!?
Waiting for response 😛😛😛

@ajsharma333

Jumping from several meters is not scary for me. But jumping from 6 meters is scary :)

Nice, enjoyed reading the story - I do love Science Fiction.

great article as always.

Great writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.68
ETH 3234.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65