A role model Steemian - The Yeti @freedompoint

in #rolemodel7 years ago (edited)

Today I came across a great contest hosted by @anomadsoul, looking to delegate steem to four people that would be "role model" steemians. This post is my entry into the contest. I am one man doing what I can. 🙃

@anomadsouls rules for who might qualify.

Among others characteristics, a good Steemian is someone who:

Is not permanently Powering down - nothing wrong with powering down a few weeks if you need money, but permanently powering down means you don´t trust the platform and are not very committed to Steemit.
Posts original and quality content - quality is subjective, but we all have a certain standard.
Cites sources whenever part of the content does not belong to her/him.
Tries to reply to the comments on his/her posts (I have to do this more often, bad Eric)
Comments on other people´s posts and gives some feedback to the author.
Does not selfvote more than once a day.
Does not use bidbots to get votes - nothing wrong to use them once in a while to boost a good post or to promote an initiative or project, but come on, not on every post.
Spreads his/her votes as wide as he/she can within their SP posibilities.
Hangs out in some chat channels regularly.
Approves at least 10 witnesses (30 would be better but well).

https://steemit.com/rolemodel/@anomadsoul/contest-a-role-model-steemian-2-000-steem-power-delegation-as-prize

I am sure the competition is steep, but I love a challenge. The list of requirements doesn't seem too intimidating once I realized I qualified!

My time on Steemit has not been the longest, but it has been filled with non stop learning. From the time I first learned to navigate the explore page, to the time I learned to use discord, even the time that I learned paying to resteem wasn't the best course.

I have primarily been involved in the homesteading community. I have found many caring people that are willing to come alongside my wife ( @freedomtowrite ) and I, and help us become what we are hoping to become.

The overall goal is to become a part of a good community, and learn as much as we can, about everything. Our ultimate goal is to become as self sustaining as possible, and with Steemit that is possible.

Our last social media experiences have been outlined in negativity, and we feel that we have so much to give. At my current level of Steem Power I can only give cents, but I make it rain. I am not sure if making it rain is protocal, but I love it. I love to engage new members and old users. I upvote comments, replies, and heart felt posts. It is just a feeling you get when you read something, you know what is in it and behind it. If I won this contest I would continue the course I am on. Like I said I am primarily in the homesteading community, but I regularly engage all over. I have a love for spirituality and art. I enjoy challenging perspectives from philosophy and psychology. I even enjoy engaging in posts about cryptocurrencies.

I'll tell you what I do know. Everyday I am here. Reading, commenting, replying and posting (maybe even a little too much). 🙃 Tomorrow, if I wake up, I'll be here.

Sort:  

I think you make a great steemian role model! Quick question if you don’t mind: what is discord? I’ve heard about it, was even invited to the homesteading discord once, but I didn’t know what it was, so I didn’t really think twice about it.

Thank you! I hope I get it. Discord is an amazing place to chat. There are several different things you can choose under each category. I am more active on homesteaders online. We do everything on our phone, so it is an app for us.

I took the dive and joined. Should be helpful if I have any questions in the future!

I can't argue a single thing you said and love your posts. You are an ideal steemit role model. But, you forgot two of your most important traits that truly set you at the top of the competition... The Yeti yell and one heckofa beard!

Yes!!! Thank you! Well, now you've complimented my beard I won't be able to sleep...haha too excited

The strong in beard must always stick together with a goal of mentoring the shorn.

Well played!

That is me too. If I wake up I am on Steemit. Then it is off the getting things done and at night back on Steemit. I do not watch tv much or anything so I read blogs and upvote as much as possible.

Yep. It is nice. Get up and enjoy Steemit...get on with the day....Steemit again. I might check it through the day haha 😉

Yes! With or without winning this competition you are definitely MY Steemian role model!

Haha, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53