The Old Dog Reveals: Roger Ver's Cool Trick For Spreading Crypto Adoption!

in #rogerver6 years ago (edited)

The confernece room was buzzing as Roger Ver announced that he had a big surprise in store for all of us at the end of his presentation. 

His keynote address was about how economic freedom makes the world improve and that crypto currencies are the best tool that we have to bring more economic freedom to the world.

What Was The Cool Trick?

Near the end of his presentation he told us to reach under our seat and that we would find a coupon that had a random amount of BCH (that's Bitcoin Cash which is a fork of the Bitcoin blockchain) taped to the bottom of it. 

These random amounts would be up to $500.00 worth of BCH! You can immagine how people were frantically ripping the coupon from the bottom of their chair and then going after the coupons under the few empty chairs that were still available.

Once we had the coupon we could download a wallet and claim our prize!


You can see where I've scratched away the film over the QR Code.


On the left you see the double sided tape that attached the card to the chair.

Was I a Big Winner?


Sadly no. As You can see from the screenshot I received 0.001 BCH which has a value of 0.70 USD. One of the men working at the BitShares booth had $200.00 loaded on his card!


My winnings. Meager but still exciting!

Why Did Roger Ver Do This?


The goal of this marketing trick was to show how easy it was to download a wallet, upload some funds and then send, receive or use it! Pretty cool way of getting more crypto into more hands!

What About You?

  • Do you use any crypto other than Steem?
  • What wallet do you use?



Thanks for following me on my travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you. 



Until next time,  


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

It was indeed a brilliant move and created a great buzz among us! I tried to claim mine yesterday, but it was past the 24h window so I missed my chance.
Reg wallet, I mostly use my steem wallet and recently downloaded the Ethos.
I have to get my hands to more crypto and discover more wallet options..

I claimed mine (66 cents) less than an hour ago. Took a couple of tries before I got it right, but it worked.

Thank you! I will give it a try and will let you know!

Just writing to let you know that you were right! I claimed my 64 cents and I was also quite surprised with the simplicity of this wallet
Thank you! 🎁🏆

64 cents? I got 66! Must be my charming personality :-)

Let’s hope that it wasn’t the $500 card!

I had few empty seats around me, but still no luck😁
It was indeed a good marketing strategy, maybe next time we could do it with steem!
154254311391226040251.jpg

LOL good one! It would be good to line up someone from Steemit.com to speak at next year’s conference. How much BCH did u get in total? .0004?

closer to 0.0099🤣
Roger Ver was really generous with all of us!😎

An interesting move, my friend, and making a presentation of the wallet in this way was an interesting idea! Thank you @kus-knee

@kus-knee, It's sounds awesome and in my opinion the more effective strategy and marketing we use to develop more use cases then for sure we can expand the Crypto Economy. At this moment we already know that there is so much controversies are going around BCH so we have to wait and see where we are heading. At the moment i am just associated with Steem only.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

We will learn a lot in the next 12-24 months.

That's true. Have a great time ahead. 🙂

An interesting trick. I use byteball end ethereum.

Good stuff!

Positive move. Waiting for some more positive news. Thanks for sharing.

Patience is required!

Oh I love this kind of marketing strategy! We should do something similar with STEEM... some kind of guerilla-marketing in a city like Zürich or Milan. 10-20 QR-codes spread out in the city.
Mmmmhh I have to think about this and collect some funds first.
Great post OldDog!

Yes it would be interesting but Steem wallets cannot be so easily obtained. The future shoukd be interesting though. There were some professors and lawyers from Italy at this conference!

Yes, I do, just to follow my friends suggest
I use Centbee wallet, and i get free 0.002 BCH before. Hehe. Just for fun sir

Nice. More than me!

I just don't like him bashing BTC because they are just similar in setting up and receiving funds @kus-knee

Contrary to what some commented he is still a big BTC backer. He was questioned about that by the audience after lecture.

His interest is in seeing more adoption of whatever coin can serve people's needs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70