You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rockhounding at work this past week

in #rockhound6 years ago

This was really fun to read, you found some really pretty stuff. I’m pretty sure the black porous one is also a lava rock. My uncle was a geologist and if I’m remembering his “rock talks” correctly those holes are made by gas bubbles when things cool quickly! They were my favorite as a kid because of their texture and because, as you pointed out, they’re so deceptively light!

Sort:  

Thanks I'm glad you liked it! I've seen some of the lavarocks you speak of and they don't quite look like it but you might be right. If it is a lavarock, it's certainly not like any other one I have found around here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43