Rock Classics #1 - Toto - New Serial

in #rockclassics7 years ago (edited)

80ies Classic Rock

Steemians - I heard there are several old guys like me here so I thought to do some posts about the Music of my youth. Growing up in the 70ies to 80ies I was a huge fan of this so called Mainstream Rock Style mainly from the US. Music our young ones might laugh at - still Music I listen to every week. I have some favourite bands which I wanted to introduce va the tag RockClassics.

That was all before I got into Metal and Techno - I still love it though.Maybe some of you old boys and girls are also interested in that niche past stuff 😎.

Starting today with one of my acts (more to follow if this is of interest):

Toto

To start with - I never saw them Live which is a shame but got all Albums at home. Toto has been formed in 1977 in Los Angeles as a band that combines elements of pop, rock, soul, funk, progressive rock, hard rock, R&B, blues, and jazz. They were probably a group of the best skilled musicians - Steve Lukather is one of my favourite guitars players. Most of the band members are genius and wrote a lot songs for other Singers that entered the billboard charts.

They have sold over 40 million records worldwide, won several Grammy Awards and are a member of the Musicians Hall of Fame. Watch and listen to some of their awesome tracks.

Straight for the Heart

Africa

Stop Loving You

Rosanna

Hold the Line

Let me know if that kind of Music is of interest

Sort:  

When I was 18 I spent what was a fortune at that time about $2,000 for a state of the art stereo. The first album that I bought was Hold The Line which was their debut. People would come to me from all around the area to listen to it on my "machine" as my parents called it!

Good stuff @uwelang you're a great Steemer!

You are not old, you are experienced :)

Great post. Keep 'em coming, please.

Here is my Toto add-on:

Thanks buddy, interesting version

You are welcome.

Don't you know Perpetuum Jazzile? They are quite popular in Germany.

Last year, when Toto had a concert in Ljubljana, they actually invited this choir and did Africa together on the stage. Awesome.

Actually not heard of them before - but thanks for showing them to me

Wow, this brings back memories. Should still still have all the tracks in your post on tapes somewhere. Tape deck however is not part of my stereo system anymore :) Wondering of all these are on Spotify :)

I think they are all on spotify - my tape is still working but not very well

Well, my tapes are untouched for maybe a decade, maybe even two already. They maybe glued together from heat/cold or whatever environmental influence changes the content on tapes, or wiped be magnetic fields. Who knows. BUT, I shall list on my todo list to check the tapes out; A project on its own so it will not be tomorrow or next week :)

Some of my tapes still work, they might still work when digital music is lost in the blockchain :-)

Aww those were the good ole days... :)

Nice - I do enjoy a bit of 80s rock!

I'm doing a similar series I call Rock n Roll Thursday which you might enjoy. One classic tune from 60s, 70s or 80s; one more modern number:

https://steemit.com/music/@sroka87/rock-n-roll-thursday-bowling-for-soup-the-seeds

Cool, checking your series

I always thought Toto was a great band. Mostly studio guys, so the musicianship was top notch.

True, a very skilled lineup - studio group with live capabilities

Have you seen this bit by comedian Patton Oswalt about the time he contemplated suicide in a supermarket, listening to Toto's "Africa"? hahaha, so funny!

Great post.

not seen this yet, funny indeed

oh my, it reminds me my teenager time, and at this time I was often in Deutschland ! ^_^

Exactly my teenager days - what have you done in Deutschland :-)?

Deutsch war meine erste fremdsprache die ich in der schule gelernt habe....meine stadt war mit Trossingen gepaart, und wir sind zweimal dort gefahren, zu unserem korrespondenten...spaeter bin ich allein dort gefahren als ich hatte leute kennen gelernt und ich habe auch ein zweimonatige Praktikum in einer Firma gemacht .... ;-)

das klingt ja spannend - Dein Deutsch ist nahezu perfekt noch immer

und noch spreche ich fast kein deutsch mehr seit 30 jahren ....nur English, und jetzt ist es sehr kompliziert in mein kopf...lol...aber ich mag gern Deutschland und habe immer gut und richtig deutsch gesprochen ;-) danke sehr Uwe und guten Nacht ^_^

Thanks for the sugestions. I have only heard "Africa" from Toto till now. I mean I watched on MTV classics 12 years back . Brings back memories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74