How to set up your own Voting Bot for Robinhoodwhale 如何设置你自己的投票机器人

in #robinhoodwhale8 years ago (edited)

Option ONE: Use @lukestokes code and piston to Set up your own voting robot.

Trusting the Hive Mind: Building My Own Voting Bot for Robinhoodwhale by @lukestokes
Step 1, Get an account at https://www.digitalocean.com
Step 2, Click "Create Droplets" -> Choose an image : Debian 8.5x64 -> Choose a size : $5 /mo -> Choose a datacenter region: New York -> Click "Create".
Step 3, Click More -> Access Console, and login with your password, Check your email, you should get an email with title "Your New Droplet: Debian-512mb-NY3-01", password is in the email. You will be forced to change your password at the first login.
Step 4,

apt-get update
apt-get -y install python3-pip php5 php-pear php5-mysql php5-curl git
pip install steem-piston
git clone https://github.com/lukestokes/php-steem-tools

Option TWO: Get an account at https://streemian.com/ , and set up your robot.

You need an invitation code to sign up, and you have to put your active key or owner password there.

Option THREE: Let @laonie help you to set up the voting robot for you.

If you are not comfortable with both of the first option (Too complicated for non-Geeks) and the second option( not comfortable to put your active key or owner key on that site), then you can send your posting key (private key, not the one start with "STM") to @laonie , and i will set up the robot for you, you can contact me on Steemit.chat , or send email to [email protected]

Sort:  

Sweet now we can be one of the whales and auto vote while we sleep.... wait does the bot read the content for us as well..... seems as that's not the point of the site is it... seems as we attach yourself to a whale much like a remoras to a shark... no bueno but fun.

No, it does, but it does trust the human curators who make decisions for the @robinhoodwhale. If they make good decisions, it can work. So far, after one day, I've been very pleasantly surprised. All the posts, so far, are ones I would have voted on myself had I seen them. If @robinhoodwhale doesn't curate good content, the bot won't provide any value. It relies on the human element. Also, you still have ~24 hours to remove your vote if your bot votes for something you don't like. I've so far reviewed everything it votes on.

Thanks for the shoutout!

Now I'm worried my code... shouldn't suck as much as it does. I'll have to up my game if people do decide to use it themselves. It was really just my own tinker code. It could definitely use some unit tests and instructions. The code is still very rough, very alpha. For example, I pushed out a change yesterday to support unvoting a post, and it broke normal voting as well. I didn't notice it and fix it until this morning.

Good post for everyone. Setup own voting robot.

good initiative mate !

I am getting an traceback ... assert.sysversion_info[0]. == 3 "Piston requires Python >3 I did install it. I am on the most recent version of Ubuntu. Can you help?

I tried ubuntu as well, same problem, so i changed to debian, problem solved.

I really hate to run yet another VM. There has to be an easy solve.

I had an issue with Python3. The system had defaulted to 2.7. I just ran an explicit path and bang ... it installed

Cool, glad you fixed this problem, is your robot working now?

I have not tried any bot code yet. Looking things over yet. Looking for good example code.

I just joined the RobinHood Trail, good idea!

Anybody got a clear set of instructions to set this bot up, the noob edition?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65