You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trusting the Hive Mind: Building My Own Voting Bot for Robinhoodwhale

Very cool idea. I wish I knew a bit more about php so I could fiddle around and make a bot. I don't mind bots, but mostly only if the content is reviewed by the owner and not solely upvoting content that will curate the most rewards, but that will make steemit more valuable long term.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed reading all of the posts today which my bot upvoted while I slept last night. I would have voted for them if I had found them myself. So far, 1 day into it, I'm happy about @robinhoodwhale promoting content I like. Trust the hive mind. :)

Maybe something could be created that shows a feed of potential content you may like that doesn't need you to vote on it (so as not to use up your voting power when you may be too busy to check it some nights). I think there was talk of a "suggested feed," but it may have been removed or something

The bot I wrote has a boolean which, if set to false, won't automatically vote but instead give you a link and periodically remind you to go vote for it.

That's very cool! I'm excited to try my hand at it when I have more knowledge. Do you think it will be possible to "learn" what type of content you may like, akin to a amazon or netflix type suggestion someday?

@bendjmiller222 not without building A.I. Netflix has spent a lot of money building what they have. Maybe someday I'll tinker with it though. If I kept feeding it a dataset of posts I've voted on and let it determine some characteristics I like... might be possible. Probably anything with the word "Voluntaryism" would get voted on. Heheh. Then again, once it's coded, someone will game the code.

Absolutely. I know that netflix / amazon /advertisers have invested 100's of millions of dollars into their programs, but wondered whether there was a way to better tailor to individuals without feeding just keywords and such. (I'm sure it's with enough money, but whether or not the ROI would be there or not).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60677.93
ETH 3360.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50