Robinhood: where do we stand?

in #robinhood7 years ago

FA7D6631-6216-48B6-A24F-0F683CB60BEF.jpeg

So, I live in California and have access to the Robinhood App. The biggest reason I downloaded it is to see their crypto purchase capabilities. More on that later 😩

Opening the account is pretty much just like opening a bank account. They require all of your personal data in order to vet you. No biggie there. However, since this is basically a US bank, you will be getting all the standard tax forms if you trade stocks and/or crypto. Some of you may not like this fact.

Funding the account has been a dream compared to other crypto exchanges that I belong to. US dollars post fairly quickly and you can even send money back to your originating bank account. And it posts almost immediately. Great feature compared to others.

I guess a positive (depending on your attitude) is that it is regulated by US bank and brokerage regulators. I feel like I know all the rules. I have never felt that comfortable on any of the crypto exchanges.

Now for my crypto purchasing story: totally confused 😩🤪😩!

I have been totally unable to determine when or if I can trade crypto. Their FAQ’s don’t elaborate and I have not been able to communicate with a real person. My assumption is that I am in the que; but may be behind 1.4 million other clients that also want to trade. Check out this from my dashboard:

6D7545D1-09B3-4B92-A983-B7840C83C2D9.jpeg

If any of you Steemians have experience; I would love to hear from you.

More to come as I try buying stocks on the App next week.

Sort:  

Thanks for the update! Keep us updated as you find out more. I read the other day that they were only allowing crypto trading over the coming weeks with some places being allowed to trade before others.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I believe some states should have access to BTC and ETH already. Other states may lag. You should also add yourself to the wait list within the app.
https://share.robinhood.com/tunaida

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30