Held At Gunpoint

in #robbery7 years ago (edited)

It was my first job, an 18 year old with the world ahead of me! You see my dad was a retired Bank Manager and my mothers father, my Grandpa, was a Policeman. I decided to take the safer route and begin my career in the Banking sector. Several of my friends informed me that the social life after work was great and the money for a savings bank clerk to begin with was quite rewarding, with 4 weeks annual leave benefits to enjoy!

Teller-Station-680x510.jpg

Two-weeks into my new role I was bursting with excitement! A new black and gold cut corporate suit, new work colleagues and my real affinity with arithmetic, which made my role in banking so much easier. My friend Michael and I started at the same Melbourne Branch together, after jointly interviewing for the same roles in one of Australia's leading Corporate Banks. Amongst others, I would clown around and enjoy our Accountants company in a warm atmosphere with nice team members numbering 8 in total which included some dedicated bank tellers.

All was going well until one day on a nice Sunny Friday afternoon when my Accountant, Peter, asked me to go to the information counter to service an older gentleman, innocent and proficient in my role this was a simple everyday task. Alarmingly on this day and in this moment I take a glance to my left, and in my peripheral vision I see one of our female tellers with a 44 Magnum gun pointed in close proximity to her head! A tall and intimidating man aged in his 50's who wore painter’s masks and overalls, yelled "All of you get f*&#. down" I could feel the "Blood Rush Through My Whole Body"

104280293.jpg

An unimaginable event we all hit the ground! It was too hard to comprehend, it was like being in the movies, though this time it was real. I thought I was going to die, being just 3 feet away from the hooded robber. Michael my colleague right next to me on the floor at a glance was pushing the alarm button for emergency assistance under the savings bank desk, I thought this was extraordinary courage as this gun was a monster in size and the danger of him seeing this action may threaten our lives, I was chilled to the bone..

The bank was poorly secured with no sliding walls and very low desks, and in an instance "Grandpa Harry"decides to hurdle the desk and forces our Accountant, man handling him to the safe. The pure terror on his face was frightening, nervously speaking, in stuttering terms he goes to the safe with both keys removing all of the banks forty thousand dollars in cash, bagged from our open vault door.

The money was nervously delivered to the armed robber - the gun barrel size was enormous and frightening, my heart sank and the story of how your whole life spins in your in head is certainly a feeling you never which to even experience. Your basically, "Staring Death In The Face"

Within 5 mins the robbery was over, the bank employees eventually all find their feet and the cries of the 2 female tellers was just one of the most cruelest noises you ever wish to hear, one of punishment and horror!

Our Accountant soon after the robbery asks me to proceed outside to see if the coast is clear in which I reject, "No Sorry Peter " was my response! He later apologises for this directive, as the detectives arrive soon after to investigate the scene and speak with all employees individually.

The Police detectives instantly recognised the man after the teams consistent description, "Grandpa Harry" whom we all find out later receives 12 years Jail for Multiple robberies across Australia. He eventually was found dead in his seventies after incarceration, in a flooded regional Wodonga Quarry missing his testicles, thought to be by the snake-neck tortoises.

It was later revealed the robber ended his life in mysterious circumstances known variously as 'The Gentleman Bandit', 'The Beanie Bandit' and, later in life, as 'The Grandpa Harry Bandit' was murdered by violent younger associates who were scared he was going to inform on them for their crimes, so the snake-neck tortoises remain innocent on all charges!

All employees, including myself and Management were transferred to other Australian banking Branches as a course of banking Policy.

Sort:  

wow you were just 18 years old too

yes, i was only in the bank for 2 weeks..my first job!

Damn, sounds really scary. This deserves an upvote. It would be great if you check out my posts!

Not an enjoyable experience..

I'm sorry about that. I hope you regain your trust for humans again

Yes it was like that really, trust in humans..A very good point it took a while:)
Best to you!

What a hectic story!!! And a terrible thing to experience.

So hard to describe it was Crazy!! and sad at that age.

no one should experience that

Thanks Bud, it was ugly there is evil out there sadly..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33