Day one of my West Coast road trip

in #roadtrip7 years ago

Well it was a wet and misrable start in Wellington this morning. But that didn't dampen my spirits as I got up at stupid o'clock to get read to the flight to Dunedin.

P_20170605_142650.jpg

Things started off well, the shuttle to the airport arrived early, and I got to checking in time to book a good seat - loads of legroom and a window where I coluld see the Southern Alps on the way down.

It was a lovely flight, arriving pretty much on time. It was however pretty damn cold in dunedin - just 2 degrees celcius.

My mate Grant was waiting for me in his flash SUV, ready to go. So i jumped in and off we went into the morning fog.

We spent thenext couple of hours diving through some lovely countryside catchig up on what we have been up to.

We stopped off for lunch in Alexandra and I had possibly the best mutton pie ever!

Then back on the road again to Queenstown.

We are now sitting in our hotel room while the houskeeping guy separates the bed into two singles - we're mates but we're not that close.

Then hopefully he will reset the fuse that blew when I turned the kettle on for a cup of tea.

The weather today was just awesome and it looks like it will be a clear night also. just perfect weather for some astro-photography and checking out the light show in the park.

It is however, still very cold. Brrrr. But I guess you have to expect that in the mountins in winter.

Sort:  

When we've been down south in winter, I've often thought that although the temperature is a lot lower than Wellington, without the southerly blast, it doesn't seem quite as unpleasant. As long as you have enough layers on.

Yeah ut is dead calm here right now and quite lovely

Yon are to close to the big white bit on all the maps. Go north, up the page, towards warmth.

Now thats a plan! The temp did not hit double digets (except in the car)

We is dead in papa so you have no worries till you get home

Welcome to my part of the country! I can recommend the light display. We went last night. I would also recommend a warm jacket, hat and maybe gloves if there's a breeze!
Enjoy your trip north. It's a beautiful time of the year.

We are on our way there now 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35