OREGON TRIP PT. 1

in #roadtrip7 years ago

As my 1st post on Steemit, I decided to chronicle my trip out to Memorial Day Trip to Oregon. I went to Oregon to visit my little brother Jourdan, his baby momma/fiance, Stephanie, and my brand new nephew Journey! Leading up to departing for my trip was nothing short of hectic. I'm sure you have all had those days where you feel like you are running around like a chicken with its head cut off! I barely had enough time the day prior to pack clean socks!

My trip was with my parents: Mom - a non-stop nagger, pack-rat, and semi-professional picture taker, and Dad: constantly reminding me to drive the speed limit every 15 seconds! The next 13 hours would be like riding a merry-go-round off a fifth of tequila. Luckily, Mom and Dad had done an awesome job of picking out a sweet ride for the trip. A Silver 2017 Dodge Caravan. IMG_4777.JPG It even had rims, leather seats and Satellite Radio. Cherry. Our last trip to Oregon a year ago had not been as comfy as were packed to the roof in a Chevy Malibu. We began our trip leaving the Bay Area at 5am. Since I was barely awake, my mom drove the 1st leg of our 13 hour journey. Our 1st stop was at McDonalds in Vacaville where I ordered a number #4 and an extra large ice coffee. I told my mom I would take over. It was about 7:30am when we left McDonalds. I set my GPS and got back on the highway. Several minutes in, the coffee was not working. I felt like dozing off and even swerved in and out of my lane a few times! My Dad suggested I play the Radio. We settled on a classic rock station to keep my spirits and energy high. I love good music on a long road trip. Jimi Hendrix, The Rolling Stones, Rush, Supertramp, just to name a few bands they were playing on this channel. We took a pee break in Weed, CA and I snapped this cool photo of Mt. Shasta. IMG_4771.JPG
I had to pee real bad. Good thing I had time to site-see just a little bit. We got up to Medford around 12 noon and stopped for lunch. Guess where? In-n-Out Burger! The only one in Oregon! IMG_4784.JPG As we were eating our lunch, we were approached by a sweet young girl who apparently worked there! She told us how much she loved In-n-Out burger and how much she loved working there. Then she gave us a bunch of stickers and posed for a picture. IMG_4782.JPG How i wish they had this kind of hospitality in California! I started to get a sense of how friendly and welcoming Oregonians were....Back on the road, and I cracked open a ROCKSTAR! Sugar to get the blood flowing.... Needed to stop for gas, and in Oregon it is illegal for you to self serve your own gas....Full Service only. The minivan gets about 22-25 mpg. Filled up for about 30 bucks in Grants Pass.....Dad was starting to get on my nerves..." Drive the speed limit!", "Don't pass this guy up!", "Don't tail this guy!" "Stop at the next rest stop" ... If there was an award for best back seat driver, my dad would win Gold.....Part 2. coming soon....!

Sort:  

Congratulations @josefbautista! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Ha, those silly gas laws in Oregon and New Jersey. Love me some good road trips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70