7. Destination Greece

in #roadtrip7 years ago

Hello Steemers!

I have been very busy with my summer school in California and NOW! I am back in Denmark! Summer school was so awesome and I learned a lot and I will miss Berkeley University. I hope everyone doing fine here on Steemit ;)

Be ready for my loooong post about our 7th destination in our roadtrip last year in Europe, which is GREECE!

Cities we visited in Greece is:

  • Thessaloniki/Lagadas
  • Loutra Ipatis / Lamia
  • Delphi
  • Athens
  • Ioanninna and Igoumenitsa

The first city we visited is Thessaloniki, but we had a hotel in a small city named Lagadas outside Thessaloniki. The Hotel is called Lido hotel.

I hope you will enjoy the photos from Thessaloniki

IMG_2508.jpg
This photo is from Aristoteles Square

IMG_2502.jpg
And here I am! In the waterfront. We just enjoyed what we could see.

IMG_2504.jpg
White Tower of Thessaloniki. I thought it was very unique that the city have a nice little tower in the middle of the city :)

IMG_2512.jpg
And small beautiful fountain.

After Thessaloniki we drove to Loutra Ipatis, about 15 KM from Lamia. We booked a hotel room there just because it was cheap, but after we came to the hotel the owners of the hotel told us that we should see a very special mountain near by. We visited Agathonos Monastery in the mountains and it was incredible!

IMG_2582.jpg
The landscape was so beautiful. It was an quiet place and we were almost alone up there.

IMG_2548.jpg
In the background you can see Agathonos Monastery. In the monastery we saw a mummy of Vissarion Korkoliacos (1908-1991).

vissarion.jpg
I took this picture from this link: http://www.johnsanidopoulos.com/2012/01/fr-vissarion-korkoliacos-still-showing.html
We did not know if we could take some pictures when we were in the building.


From Agathonos Monastery

From Loutra Ipatis to Delphi. We had a small hotel room with no air condition in a hotel called Epic Rooms and there was 40 degrees.
Otherwise we saw attractions like: Temple of Apollo, Delphi Archaeological MuseumIMG_2621.jpg

The ruins:
thumb_IMG_2648_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_2654_1024.jpg

And there we ate in a restaurant near a cliff, where we got some greek food:
thumb_IMG_2671_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_2672_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_2673_1024.jpg
YUMSI! It tasted so good :)

After Delphi we drove to ATHENS the capital of Greece. The first thing we did was to see the Apollo tempel and here are some pictures from there:

thumb_IMG_2680_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_2684_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_2688_1024.jpg

The Panathenaic Stadium
thumb_IMG_2705_1024.jpg

Two of our last destinations in Greece are Ioannina and Igoumenitsa. Ioannina is a very special city, it rains everyday about 1 pm in an hour. You can see the video below:

We took to Perama Caves, AMAZING experience! We were not allowed to take some pictures, but I have found a picture from this link: http://www.pargaideal.com/en/attraction/excursions-around-parga-perama/
spilaio_peramatos1-800x465.jpg

And after Ioannina, we took to Igoumenitsa where we took the ferry to Italy.
IMG_2816.jpg

IMG_2823.jpg

Next post will be about Italy. Thank you for reading my LOOOONG post! ;) :P

Sort:  

Your photos are amazing, it made me want to go to Greece! I follow you :P

Yes! You should go to Greece someday :D

Hi @inuk, it is so cool to see your photos of Greece. Feels like going with you. Good skills of photo taking. Looking forward to your next trip :)

Thank you ;) I love taking some pictures.
I hope you'll love my post about Italy :)

I love ancient Greece. Those ruins are perfect.

Yes, they are perfect! So incredible :)

Another one on the very top of the list. Love your photos!

Thank you :D
I love taking pictures!

Welcome back! Did things seem a lot cheaper in Greece or were the prices about the same as Denmark?

Thank you :)
Maybe a little bit cheaper that Denmark, but almost the same. :)

Great posts can be useful can be an experience. Hopefully be a friend who can help me to like you ..... to dream and hope to be achieved. Like @sinta need friend support. Best regards. you are a good friend who support me. the best friend's in this esetim. please you please i love my poetry. i accept your suggestion
https://steemit.com/story/@sinta/i-miss-you-again-awake-201797t11814967z

Hi @sinta
I will read your poetries and I have followed you :)

@inuk I think u have enjoyed the 7 destination the places u visit is very cool and one day I will try to follow the places thanks for sharing I loved ur podt

Hi @samiraza
Thank you for your kind comment :) Do it! you will experience many nice things and you will also learn their cultures.

I will their is many thing to get experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48