Road to SteemFest: Business or pleasure?

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

I am lucky that even though I work long hours, I don't have to travel for my work. In all the years, I have only spent a couple of nights away from home but the longest period is coming up for Steemfest, 7 nights. In two years I have spent 2 nights in total away from our daughter and that is when she stayed at her grandparent's, a kilometre away. It is going to be strange for everyone and, the closing Sunday is Father's day.

I am not sure who is going to have the hardest time with it all but knowing my daughter, probably my wife.

The prompt from @anomadsoul is asking if Steemfest going to be business or pleasure. You can see the last post in the series here which has links to others. I am on my phone so adding lots of links is frustrating.

Business or pleasure?

I am taking a hybrid approach to Steemfest because honestly, the last two years hasn't been the easiest in any way so if I can get a little social therapy, I would be crazy not to take it. I am really looking forward to meeting so many people I have interacted with and sharing stories and experiences face to face. For those who are the most active on Steem, it is hard to find people who understand us so Steemfest gives an opportunity to spend time with people who know.

Having said that, I feel I am still finding my place here and as the community grows and shifts, I am hoping that by interacting and learning with various people of a range of interests and perspectives, I might be able to clarify my view and perhaps connect with people and projects I may be able to bring value to.

There are many ways to bring value and even though I try through my content, there are other aspects that require attention too. The environment is shifting from the code to the community and this is somewhere I think I am able to bring some added value in from my own professional experience working with large companies, smaller departments of them and key people within them.

For me, I see so much future value in Steem and have worked very hard content-wise to build a position and some kind of reputation as some kind of thinker with a longer view. This is not predictive though, it is directional. As I see it, small steps lead us everywhere and sometimes, provide opportunity for great strides to be taken.

This is the reason I take a hybrid approach because as I see it, personal and business can't really be teased apart. I have never met anyone whose personal life isn't affected by work and, I have never seen a relationship that is purely business. We are social animals and business is just an alignment of personal goals within a community. The strongest communities are the ones who align their business activities to satisfy community members the best they can. This is difficult to do of course because of incentive and want differences but, not impossible.

I see the growing development of community blockchain technology helping to close gaps that governments and corporations have failed to do. A successful community for long-term benefits is one that is driven by tge needs of the community itself, not the power desires of authority.

So, Steemfest for me is an opportunity to further marry into a the Steem community through building relationships with people who want it to be successful. My assumption is that all the people attending want Steem to improve, grow and benefit themselves in the future which means, the entire community in the future.

As serious as some business is, I do think there is always space for enjoyment and a laugh.

Bleasure or is it Pleasness?

It doesn't really matter because at the end of it all, we have families, friends, communities and a whole lot of other people in the real world who can benefit from a strong Steem community.

Even if they don't know it yet.

This morning I bought my airline ticket to Poland. Next is the event ticket. For the first time ever I have insurance on the ticket but, I am now close to certain I will be there and just in case I ever forget:

Thank you to anyone and everyone who has supported me or others directly or indirectly by being decent members of this community. There is a long way to go but... small steps.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

If i'm asking why i'm travelling i'll likely say 'a bit of both'.

You've had little time away and deserve a 'holiday', but I suspect there will be plenty of moments where home is on your mind.

For this, I offer you the worm at the bottom of the tequila bottle :)

For this, I offer you the worm at the bottom of the tequila bottle :)

I am still unsure about sleeping arrangements but, drunk me snores more ;)

Same, but at least I'll get 6 hours that way.

I am taking earplugs :)

Yep a hybrid approach is the best. I call it BLEASURE

pleasureness...sounds much less seedy.. ...lol

They all sound pretty seedy :D

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.118 which ranks you at #253 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 256).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Has to be both really. Your account is like a small business lol. The benefits outweigh everything that you are sacrificing. I wish I was coming along as well but will come next time. Next time may be bigger though as more onboarding happens.

Next time may be bigger though as more onboarding happens.

I think at some point they are going to have to split them to regions.

Being away from your daughter for a week, definitely not easy... This will also be my longest period away from my girls as well... I will miss them but I know I will enjoy myself there too in Krakow.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is going to be a strange week I think with lots of firsts :)

So far the longest I have been away from my girls are 3 nights. Initially felt weird. But then again kinda enjoy the "ME" time at night in bed. And the best part of the day would be the moment talking to my girls on phone. So let's enjoy the strange week in November... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I found that the best way to get more exposure to my posts is by using steemengine and linking my twitter account.

I found out the worst way to get more exposure to my posts is by writing irrelevant comments on other people's posts.

A good post! I need and work and travel, I think so !;)
гггьб.jpg

You got a 52.97% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52