Road to Steemfest3 Week 7: Am I going for business, pleasure or both?

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago (edited)

In this initiative that we thank to @anomadsoul, he asks us a different question every week. The main objective is to discover something about the others and get to know each other before Steemfest.

Wow! Seven weeks already? Seven weeks ago I was still 'taking it slow', thinking: 'Ah, such a long way to yet before November', and now YIKES!!! It's quickly coming closer...

I don't have much to say about my progress, because there is none, well besides that I don't have to pay part of a loan until later, that surely helps. But I still won't be able to get the ticket before they go up in price, which means that instead of an (for me) already steep 333 Euro, I will have to pay 20% more, bringing it to an horrific (again: for me) almost 400 Euro. Of course, I'll be laughing about this soon, because 60 Euro isn't something to become homeless over, but yeah...not laughing just yet.

But then, this made me think about something: right after this Steemfest, I am going to set up a little savings fund to start saving for the next one. And this in its turn, made me think of something else, but more about that later...another post maybe.

So...Business, Pleasure or Both?

Last year, I didn't go to Steemfest with any expectations. I am trying to do the same thing this year.
I really knew of about only 5 people or so, that would be going, other than that: I didn't know anyone (and I am talking 'knowing them on Steemit, not for realz). I went with a mind open enough to believe that anything is possible. I returned home super energized and full of ideas that I needed a few weeks to process it all.

This year, I am looking forward to meeting lots of last years attendees again and lots of others that I know here, but never met. Then there will be completely 'new' people (for Steemfest that is) and those who I've either missed, or didn't have the chance to speak more than 4 words to.
Then, of course, I remember last year's evening and night at the pool bar.
I think that I was one of the last people to leave. I remember ushering some of us out, because the staff really looked like they wanted to go home. LOL. Mommy incognito to the rescue.
And the rest of the days and evenings filled with talks, chats, food and...well, booze. (and to think that I usually don't drink...well, I made up for it!)
I know stuff like that will be the case again this year.

But this year I am not NEW anymore

So that changes things. In the last year, I've been trying to keep up with all the new things that came around the corner. I think I managed this quite well, even though sometimes I get into a state of information overload. I'm part of a few communities, like @familyprotection, @ecotrain and @steemitmamas. And I'm involved in some projects, like the translation project for Utopian and DaVinci, so this keeps me on my toes as well. And then there are the projects that never took off, but one day might or not.
Because of this, I've met some pretty cool, smart and good people along the way and that always gives me ideas. There are a few ideas running around in my mind that I would love to discuss with others.
Discord is OK, but person to person is much better.

Conclusion

With all this in mind, I believe it's safe to say that I am going to Steemfest this year for both business and pleasure. But is it really business if what you're doing is a lot of fun? No it isn't, is it?
Again, I will be going with an open mind in which anything is possible.

So mostly pleasure...Yup. There it is. I said it. And I will love every second of it!

Photos from Pixabay - The amazing banner was made by @rubencress

Sort:  

I can relate on this... I am not new anymore either and I would love to meet more awesome people from other part of the world too... See you in Krakow! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool! Will be great to meet you!

I bet you have to process an event like that, doesn't surprise me one bit that it took you a few weeks last year. Either way, I totally understand why you want to go, for me it will be next year at the earliest. Other priorities ;) So see you next year haha

Yeah, well if I wouldn't have been there last year, then maybe I would have said the same...but now it's different. Yes, it takes a while to process.. See you next year for sure!!!

Go for BOTH and have a great time! Dlive and post from there :D

Haha, good idea! I have my camera and video camera ready. I hope to do more interviews this year too. Last year the talks, chats and booze got in the way LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52