Road To SteamFest (Week 8) - Business Or Pleasure?

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago (edited)



I can’t believe it’s week 8!! Time has seriously been flying by, and again this week I almost missed writing the weekly free write. I feel like I have been talking SteemFest all week though!

I’ve really been enjoying this initiative and the connections it is building. To be honest.. that whole I’m terrified to show up at a festival where I know no one feeling, is almost gone entirely. Because quite frankly, I feel like I already know a lot of you... and now am just excited to grab a drink and catch up on what is happening in each other’s lives. Which is a pretty extraordinary thing I must say.

This weeks #Roadtosteemfest write up asks the question of ...

What are you going to SteemFest for? Business or Pleasure?



Why can’t I have both?



Seriously, I can’t be the only one who immediately thought of a mullet.. Business in the front, party in the back? I am? Oh.. must be that American humor again😜



Eric gave us some examples of possible reasons for attending;

Are you going to Krakow because, like me, expect to find a crypto babe wealthy as hell and win her heart?


So you want to attend Steem Fest 3 because you need funding for one of your projects?


Do you want to go to Poland so you can meet a whale who can get you out of anonymity?


Is this trip your opportunity to go to a new country and explore its touristic spots and get to know the local culture?


Is jumping on a plane to this Steem massive meet up your chance to meet all those people you spend countless hours a week conversating and fooling around in the different chat rooms?

Well, at least we know we will have some entertainment watching Eric try to catch his crypto babe...



I’m not sure my reasonings fall into any of the above categories really. 🤔


When I first decided to go to SteemFest it was initially all business;

  • Learn about where the Steem platform is going and how I can be apart of it, from the individuals that are at the forefront.

  • Try to bring awareness to the need for curation efforts, to ensure our best content is being seen and that those valuable content creators stay on the platform.

  • Absorb as much knowledge as I could about the inner workings of the blockchain and crypto currency, because It’s something I still don’t fully grasp.

While those things are still very much some of my goals, maybe even my main goals. In fact one of the biggest things I will be doing there is Making a presentation about curation on the platform as a whole with some fellow curators on behalf of @curie. As curation is something I’m extremely passionate about, that’s pretty big for me.


But shortly after deciding to go, the whole Pleasure side has definitely creeped in as well.


I feel SteemFest is going to be an adventure I won’t soon forget and I’m excited to experience it while...

  • Going on my first solo travel, and overseas at that.

  • Exploring a country I have never been to, while documenting it all with my camera.

  • Being able to take this online community offline and experience these amazing friendships in real life.

  • Having long talks over beers with people from all over the world, that I would have never met if it wasn’t for the Steem blockchain.

  • Get as far out of my comfort zone that I have ever been, and do things I never thought I would. After all.. Everything you want in life is waiting for you outside of your comfort zone.

So, I guess my answer is Both... I’m going full mullet here guys. 😄


There are plenty of other things I am looking forward to, but in it all.. I know it’s going to be an unexpected journey, and the start of something wonderful.


Thanks for the support and love! Can’t wait to see you all come November,

❤️ Justine


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Banner by @rubencress

Sort:  

Has to be both business and pleasure but lucky for you Steem is fun anyway so I guess it is more pleasure in an around about way.

Very true! Hard not to enjoy an event that has been organized to include those social events too. I guess that sort of how the platform is too, so it seems fitting!

I think you're first solo international trip will be awesome. It's true that life is better when you push past your comfort zone.

I know, what a first trip huh? I agree, I think jumping out of your comfort zone really allows you to be able to achieve the things you want and have those experiences that really make an impact. See you in a few weeks!

Everything you want in life is waiting for you outside of your comfort zone.

Is that so? I have a lot to seek then!

Not long now :)

Yeah seriously, jump out of that comfort zone already!

Crazy.. it’s gonna be here before we know it. I have so much left to do, I should probably start soon 😬

I am out of my comfort zone right now as there is a mozzy in my room somewhere 😡

Doubt we'll see any of those in Poland!

Lol! I don’t think that is exactly what the quote was referencing but yes those little buggers don’t like the cold 😄

I didn't think so - just throwing a mozzy in the works 😛

I've still not caught the little bugger, and cannot sleep until it is gone! 😡

Ugh... but but, isn’t it morning? Maybe the mozzy (first time I’ve ever heard it called that btw) thinks you should get up and do some sun gazing.. good for your soul.

Rise and shine sugar pie!

Love your friend,

Mozzy

Yes from the bump on my arm it has already had a nibble in the night.

I guess you are right, I'll get up start the day - with Steem 😛

BOTH is probably the right answer :D I am glad that it is a both business and pleasure reasons, lele :) That's the sweet spot of mixing passion and vocation <3

Yes I think you are spot on! It’s nice to have some goals to achieve while also just enjoying the experience ❤️

Hi @llfarms!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.232 which ranks you at #2627 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 12 places in the last three days (old rank 2615).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 388 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52