After hours and Free time | My road to Steem Fest

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago (edited)

steemfest.png

Dear party animals,

Now that I have my ticket and flight secured, I can start thinking about all the fun stuff I will do in Krakow, and to be very honest, the talks are not on my priority list. In fact, I may have to work a couple of hours here and there and will probably do that during those talks in the morning. If you are one of the speakers please don't get offended, it's out of my hands...I will not be 100% on holiday.

In the evenings, and I'm all yours!

I look forward to mingling, dancing, laughing (a lot!) and going a bit crazy. Why? I don't go out very often here nowadays, and I really want to put my old party animal suit back on. You see, when I was in college, I used to go clubbing 6 days out of 7. Why not 7? Well, my favorite club had to close one day too, unfortunately for me.

How did I not fail college?

I was well organized! I would take naps after school, from 5 to about 11pm, then get dressed and go out until 4 -5am, get back home, go to school at 9am, come home and 5pm and repeat. I don't know how I managed to do this for so long, but I guess not drinking helped. I was able to dance all night without a drop of alcohol. Having Muslim friends helps with this part, so thanks for that!!

After I moved to NYC, I got introduced to screwdrivers. The drink, not the tool. I guess I was tired of hearing "orange juice with what?" when I ordered at the bar, so one day I caved and started drinking liquor. By then I had a real job, so I limited my crazy clubbing nights to Fridays and Saturdays. Same in London, but by then I had switched to wine and beer, and until today these are my poison of choice. Maybe I can't hold my energy level until 5am anymore, but I can try.

At Steemfest, I will try not get totally wasted, just because hangovers are the worst for me. If I'm hungover, my day is ruined. I'd be totally useless, and since I don't want to waste a minute on this trip, I better keep those drinks in check.

I do want to hit the clubbing and bar scene though in Krakow, because that's also part of getting to know a country and its culture. I want to mingle with the locals and see what rocks their boat. I can imagine that several people will want to do the same, so let's all discover Krakow nightlife together! I also enjoy just standing in a corner of a bar and just observe people. It's quite entertaining...

Besides partying

The Steemfest partner hotel I was able to book with my miles has a fantastic gym and even a pool. So of course I'll bring my workout gear with me and spend at least an hour or so per day training. It's funny actually, I could care less what the room looks like, and I'm more excited about this gym than anything else!

gym.png

I'm also wondering if that pool will be hijacked for a pool party? That could be fun! I guess I'll pack a swimming suit too just in case!

pool.png

The visits

Culture matters to me too, just in case you got the wrong idea from the first half of this post lol...
I love the idea of visiting Auschwitz. It's not fun per se because it's probably quite sad and shocking to see what happened there, but at the same time it's of historical significance and therefore a must see.

I will also be in town on the 5th already, so I will probably have checked out the city center before Steemfest. Of course, I will still go enjoy some waffles on Sunday with everyone else if there's an organized tour.

Finally, the bowling idea sounds hilarious to me. I suck at bowling, probably because I only tried it once. I can only imagine how funny it will be to play in teams. I hope nobody is practicing before getting there, because that wouldn't be fair. I only have access to coconuts here lol.

That's it for me guys, the date is getting closer, and I'm more excited than ever to meet you all in person in Krakow!

Cheers!
_______eve signature.png

logo+join

Sort:  

"I used to go clubbing 6 days out of 7."

Wow. And I thought I was something like a party-pro with my 4 out of 7 during my golden party age at the university :D You never fail to amaze me Eve :)

LOL yes but now I'm a grandma ahahahah. I will make an exception at Steemfest though =)

We should make up a non-alcoholic drink with a supercool name so no-one will ever ask anymore 'with what?' or 'no alcohol, really'? And of course make it go viral so you can order it in any bar in any region in the world :')

Maybe 'DutchShot' for an Orange Juice (our national colour is Orange) and WhaleSpray for a simple mineral water :P

I never needed alcohol to dance either, I was several times crowned 'Dancing Queen' by the security guard of a place I often danced until closing time - since I used to be the last one dancing :D

that's awesome, I love the Dutch Shot idea =) And the whalespray too LOL

Trust me if they'd serve coffee at clubs I'd probably be drinking those. I need like 10 cups per day anyway =)

We should call that PowerBrown, for a very strong espresso.

takes notes of Dutch shot

What About a Steem Shot?

Blue Curacoa and Vodka

Oh my gosh you are a party animal!! 6 out 7 days!?!? 😂 That is hard core! Man, you are gonna be a blast.. I’m exhausted just thinking about it.. I feel like I need to be training for this.. staying up until 5 am.. sleeping 2 hours.. just to get ready. Who am I kidding, I would die hahahaha

So excited to me you and the hubs! This is gonna be a blast!

hahaha I'm no longer a party animal =). I may tryto be again for Steemfest, but trust me, nowadays I'm in bed by 10.30pm LOL

Better start practicing with those coconuts. Maybe poke some sticks in the ground and roll the coconut to them. Then bowling for real will be easy, haha.

LOL not a bad idea

Party animal? So sunrise in krakow sunday morning? :D

LOL that was a long time ago...but I will try ==)

Okay i will wake up at 4 and bring you coffee :D

Posted using Partiko Android

You woke up the party animals now. Haha, you used to party quite a lot actually. :))

I'm thinking of skipping some of the conferences as well, even if I know a couple of the speakers, and I wouldn't like to miss out on their speeches.

Also, I'm glad that you got a second ticket, and can bring your husband to the fest. Have fun. :)

yeah I think a lot of people will sleep in =) I'm sooo looking forward to it!!! Hope to see you party there too =)

Throughout the years I developed one skill that is going to be of tremendous help now; I can sleep anywhere, anytime, as long as I'm tired. I think the conference rooms are going to be some nice, cozy places, just perfect for some quick naps.

I'll party for sure!! :D

LOL I used to sleep in the toilets at work...not very comfortable, but when you need a few minutes it works!

That's mad, Eve; I think you'll be the one to get the most sleep at SF, out of the party animals. :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29