Road to Steemfest : A Trip Down Memory Lane

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends!

I'm a little late in posting this first edition of #roadtosteemfest... but what the hell - I'm not much of a rule follower anyway. 😉 From what I gather from @anomadsoul's post... the main point of this challenge is to create some serious FOMO for those who have yet to attend a Steemfest.

What better way to create buzz, bring back some old memories and stir up some good old FOMO than with a ton of photos from last year's event?

Before scrolling down to the many photos and selfies pictured below - here's a little snapshot of what my Steemfest experience was like.

Steemfest 3 - The Cliff Notes Version


Steem is such a massive part of my life and so there was no question of whether or not I would attend Steemfest 3. I had already attended several crypto conferences with other Steem attendees in Vegas and Toronto - and saw the amazing connections and camaraderie that occurred when meeting up in person.

I was super nervous to travel because it would be my first time going solo and my first time in Europe - but so many steemians offered tips and advice that put my nerves at ease. @soyrosa even gave me her cell phone number and told me to call her if I ever felt lost or confused. How amazing is that? Then on the way back home - I ended catching a ride with @guchtere to the airport and got to hang out with @for91days while waiting for our flight. Just goes to show that everything will work out when you just go for it.

On a side note... Since flying to Bangkok is going to be a looooong ass flight - If anyone wants to meetup in Bellingham and fly with me outta Vancouver - I'd be down. Let's get an entourage going.

Okay... back to last year.

Probably the best decision I made that entire trip was to get into town a few days early. It gave me a chance to settle in, get to know the surrounding area, explore and get a little rest before the craziness begins. When I say craziness... i mean it. You will get no sleep and will have the time of your life... but having a few days to recover from the full day or two of travel is totally worth it. It also gave me a chance to really explore the city because you don't have a lot of spare time during the event. Another benefit of getting into town early is that as people start to trickle in - you can meetup with them and have some more intimate gatherings before you are with hundreds of people altogether.

I won't go into all the nitty, gritty details of each conference day and nighttime outting - but I do want to say one thing.

You will have the time of your life.


I've been to a lot of events, and have never seen such care, precision, planning and excitement built into an event. I have no idea what @roelandp will cook up for Bangkok this year -but you can bet your ass that it will be amazing. Not only will you be surrounded by incredible people, but he will craft memorable experiences that you would never anticipate or imagine. Last year - we had a closing dinner over 50ft. underground in an 800-year-old salt mine. Oh... and it was a fancy, catered dinner underground too. I never could have had an experience even half as epic if I had just gone to visit the salt mines by myself.

A Shizton of Steemfest Selfies


IMG_9567 2.JPG

📸: @steemcafe @daveonarrival and @koreanoprah

IMG_9567 4.JPG

📸: @world-travel-pro

IMG_9567 5.JPG

📸: @dan-atstarlite, @anyx, @jaybird, and @steemcafe

IMG_9567 7.JPG

📸: @theaustrianguy

IMG_9567 8.JPG


📸: @yidneth

IMG_9567 9.JPG

📸: @joythewanderer

IMG_9567 10.JPG

📸: @crypto.talk

IMG_9567 11.JPG

📸: @meno

IMG_9567 12.JPG

📸: @tanbay

IMG_9567 50.JPG

📸: @luzcypher

IMG_9567 13.JPG

📸: @daveonarrival

IMG_9567 14.JPG

📸: @techslut, @nomadicsoul, and @redrica

IMG_9567 15.JPG

📸: @guyfawkes4-20 and @gtg

IMG_9567 16.JPG

📸:@nomadicsoul and @daveonarrival (ft. @steemmonsters cards 😂)

IMG_9567 17.JPG

📸: @redrica

IMG_1468.JPG

📸: @steembirds (@dan-atstarlite, @jaybird), @steevc, @lizanomadsoul and @luzcypher

IMG_1467.JPG

📸:@katrina-ariel

IMG_1452.JPG

📸: @nomadicsoul, @redrica, and @techslut

IMG_1469.JPG

📸:@bugavi

IMG_1482.JPG

📸:@kevinli and @steemcafe

IMG_1481.JPG

📸: @nathanmars

IMG_1483.JPG

📸: @ytrphoto

IMG_1494.JPG

📸: @steemmatt

IMG_9567 6.JPG

📸: @captainbob

IMG_9567 20.JPG

📸: @steemcafe

IMG_9567 21.JPG

📸: @techslut, @dan-atstarlite and @ytrphoto

IMG_9567 22.JPG

📸: @guyfawkes4-20

IMG_9567 25.JPG

📸: @roxane, @anomadsoul and @zlatan-spielberg

IMG_9567 24.JPG

📸: @fredrikaa and @illucifer

IMG_9567 47.JPG

📸: @aggroed and @yabapmatt

IMG_9567 26.JPG

📸: @rivalzzz

IMG_9567 (1).JPG

📸: @nanzo-scoop

IMG_9567 23.JPG

📸: @anomadsoul

IMG_1578.JPG

📸: @nomadicsoul, @steemmatt, @jarvie, @dan-atstarlite, and @jaybird.

IMG_9567 31.JPG

📸: @nomadicsoul, @jayna, @steemmatt, @joythewanderer, @mammasitta and @kevinwong

IMG_9567 32.JPG

📸: @guyfawkes4-20

IMG_9567 34.JPG

📸: @jarvie

IMG_9567 36.JPG

📸: @felix.herrmann

IMG_9567 37.JPG

📸: @flauwy

IMG_9567 38.JPG

📸: @steemcafe, @nomadicsoul, @steemmatt, and @jarvie and @daveonarrival

IMG_9567 39.JPG

📸: @for91days

IMG_9567 40.JPG

📸: @steembirds(@dan-atstartlite and @jaybird)

IMG_9567 43.JPG

📸: @redrica and a whole lot of other steemians



divider

I hope you guys enjoyed going down memory lane with me! Leave a comment below if you are thinking of going to Steemfest 4! Can't wait to see you all again and explore a new city. This will be my first time in Asia - so let the travel nerves begin. 😅

XO, Lea

Sort:  

Such great memories. I hope to see you in Thailand.

Posted using Partiko Android

Can’t wait!! 🤗 Really hoping Mary can join me this year! We might hit you up for some travel questions. Haha

Blahahahahaha 🤣😂😅🤩😍🥰😊☺️😉🙃😉🙃🙂. We all look so Good.

Posted using Partiko Android

We are never bored... that’s for sure! 🤗

Better late than never, some great photos there!

Thanks friend!! 🥰

What a joyful post! You make me feel ashamed of my selfie game, LOL, I'm going to do better in Bangkok <3

hahah I was on a mission to take a lot of selfies.... so i probably went a little overboard. haha It's just so nice to have all these photos to look back on later! ♥️

It was great!

I dont know why you lost your voice
Apparently you just took selfies
Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

hahah right?? 😂SO many photos... this definitely isn't even all of them.

Look at you go, you beautiful butterfly! Cya in thailand

Posted using Partiko Android

Can't wait!! 🤗

I haven't officially bought my plane tickets yet - but I'm hoping Mary can come with me! Pretty awesome that you will finally have a Steemfest that is not a horrible flight for you!

I will be in Bangkok for SF4 for sure this year - I have plane tickets bought already :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that's awesome!! I haven't bought my tickets yet ... but I think I will soon to hopefully capitalize on some good deals. I'm just waiting to see if my sister Mary can come with me or not... fingers crossed! 🤞🏻

My ticket buying was easy, because the direct flight from Helsinki, Finland, to Bangkok was the cheapest one. Makes things much more convenient, too :D

I'm just waiting to see if my sister Mary can come with me or not... fingers crossed! 🤞🏻

Fingers crossed indeed, that would be great!

Found you on instagram! Love finding new steemit people outside of the platform. -@VOYCEATLAS

Posted using Partiko Messaging

No way! That's awesome! 😃I'll def check out your instagram.

Memories, misty water colored memories

So many fun times! I love the picture of us that is in this post! ❤️

Are you going to Bangkok?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90