Russian Miner Coin (RMC) & Mycellium. Restoring wallet is tricky

in #rmc7 years ago (edited)

During the RMC ICO in August I bought 0.4 RMC. It was an interesting experience for me. I had to set up a Mycellium wallet and buy RMC directly from the wallet. A brand new feature in this wallet at the time.

RMC is a colored bitcoin, meaning it's an altcoin directly associated with a BTC you're holding. Your wallet needs to support these special BTC's, and Mycellium is the only one (AFAIK) that support this specific one.

Actually pretty need these colored coins, since there's no smart contract needed this way. Less room for issues in my opinion. Do however be careful to not send your colored coin to a wallet that doesn't support the colored coin your sending, otherwise it'll get lost. The RMC balance becomes disassociated and you can't access it then.

Took me some time to understand all this, but OK. Then another challenge came up. Last november I bought a new phone, and I restored my Mycellium wallet using the HD seed. My RMC accounts appeared as well after restoring. Then I recently decided I wanted to understand how I can sell RMC. Turns out I needed to learn a few things about Mycellium that I want to share with you:

  • Mycellium offers watch accounts that enable you to view the balance associated with BTC addresses, or in my case RMC addresses. These watch addresses only monitor and are not giving you the option to control the RMC's. Their private key is not imported while importing the master HD seed.
  • You need to import each RMC private key seperately, by using your backup of encrypted RMC private keys.

Now an issue occured: it is very unclear if importing your private RMC key in a fresh Mycellium wallet will correctly import your colored BTC coin. Probably yes. But that's not good enough. I couldn't find any info about this on the RMC website (rmc.one) or the mycellium site. Therefore I'm not trying it.

I recommend anyone holding RMC coins to be aware of this issue. For me this is reason enough to sell my coins, using my old phone. I don't want to loose a lot of money by either making a mistake during restoring on my end, or by finding out Mycellium has not thought the restore scenario through yet.

If anyone has already restored a Mycellium wallet holding RMC's, please let me know!

Good luck with your coins!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73