Riverboarding Experience - Nooksack River Pacific Northwest

in #riverboard6 years ago (edited)

For several years I wanted to try out river boarding. I read about river boarding and saw a few videos but I could not find any river outfitting company that taught it. I looked on message boards and finally found someone who had an extra board that was wiling to take new people out. I already had cold water gear and a helmet. I finally had something to do to take advantage of my gopro camera as well. I just needed to purchase some mountain bike shin guards. I borrowed fins and a board. This video is the first time I went down the river. Enjoy the video. It is a lot more intense than what the video shows. You are in the water as opposed to a river raft or kayak where you are floating up above. I found this to make the river more extreme and also more difficult to see what was coming ahead.

I headed up north to Bellingham, Washington to hit the Nooksack river. The river was at high volume. It was ripping. The section where we started looked gnarly to me. I was given instructions on avoiding certain types of holes, rocks and logs. There are some nice websites that have previous posts about the current river status and obstacles to avoid. I jumped in pretty nervous and got tossed around in a hole for what felt like minutes but was actually about 15 seconds. I was ready to quit after that. Being at the mercy of the river was not a great feeling for me. I did not have the control in the water I was hoping for. Navigating and seeing what was coming ahead was difficult.

The river run was around an hour. I was exhausted and most of it was me in fear and not much enjoyment. I did not quit after this first run, I did a handful of others. See my other blog on my other run. For anyone looking into doing this I suggest the following:

  • Learn the dangers of a river and what to look out for, what to avoid
  • Learn how to deal with dangerous situations like getting out of a hole
  • Have a communication plan with your partner, I always carried a whistle. This came in handy when my board was pinned and I had to swim to the shore and try to hike down river and find my boarding partner.
  • Always go with someone else, can be a kayaker or river raft.
  • Scout the river first. Go with someone who knows the river. Read the latest information about the river.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29