Privacy

in #ritual6 years ago (edited)

What does it mean to have privacy?  I don't know that I always have the answer to this question.  Sometimes I feel guilty if I am not sharing every minor detail about myself.  I guess this is normal when you have had your right to privacy severely violated.

To correct this, I have to remind myself that the people I am talking with didn't violate my privacy in the past, so why should I treat myself in the same way as the ones who did.  I don't have to treat myself like a creepy stalker and share every detail of my life with strangers.

This does help me identify boundaries in a way that is unique, and this makes me feel a little bit lonely.  I wish I could understand what it would be like to create boundaries without using the same comparison, and then I could have something in common with other people.  Sometimes I wonder if people really know how lucky they are to be able to do this.

Sort:  

Agree but at the same time I hate when I feel constrained in writing.

That's how I felt on Facebook and Twitter which is why I quit both. I hate caring about what people from my highschool and home town might think about me. They just don't get me.

I'm really glad I quit those sites and came here instead. I feel less limited. But like you say sometimes it's scary because yeah .... something you post could come back to haunt you. I choose not to let it limit me ... feels too good to write freely without caring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23