Why Do People Say Ripple Is A Scam?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ripple7 years ago (edited)

Could someone explain this?

From what I understand, Ripple is centralized by the banking industry. To say that makes it a scam is not correct; in addition, because it's run in the banking industry, isn't it subject to audits? I get that many of us don't like centralized things, but that doesn't make them automatically a scam.

I'd like to know:

  • What evidence do people have that Ripple is a scam?
  • What's wrong with the banking system coming up with their own solution? If we don't like it, we don't have to use it.
  • Since it integrates with other platforms, isn't Ripple on some level good for the ecosystem?
  • When might Ripple be a good hedge?

I want to be clear here: I don't intend to debate the view, I just want to know why people feel this way about Ripple. I feel it has a place in this ecosystem, even if I don't see the value for myself.

All images courtesy Pixabay.

Sort:  

Let's see who can answer this for you: @richguy @jimmco @automation may know about this and another renown expert is @kingscrown

Thanks; I'd love to hear why. It may not be a favorite project, but scam is a pretty strong word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62788.74
ETH 2974.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60