You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Steemit could learn from Ripple's funding strategy

in #ripple8 years ago (edited)

For the record, I used to like Ripple. I didn't listen to the haters. It was through experience and years of being in the crypto space that I came to my current view of them. I had worked on apps for Ripple, tried to use it as an exchange, tried to do all of the things they claim one can do with it, etc. I don't care about earning money through "mining" it or anything - but the fact that there is no incentive for at least somewhat decentralized nodes/miners/witnesses/whatever is not good in my book. I believe Ripple will do what they want, as all companies do. Banks will do what they want. I'm experienced enough to know that this can't be "stopped" and so I don't actually "hate" the Ripple protocol or anything like that. BUT, there are a lot of newbies who will see that Ripple is the #3 coin by market cap, see the price spike, and plunk their earnings into XRP, etc. If no one in the crypto community speaks their mind on Ripple, then people won't be aware that there are (or depending on your perspective, are not) issues.

That being said, I do apologize for posting a negative comment on your article and next time I plan to publish my own article with an opinion instead of going all haty on yours.

Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46