You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ripple Skyrockets | The Rippening Is Here

in #ripple7 years ago (edited)

While it's clear that Ripple the token is overvalued at the moment, what sets it apart from Verge to me (and to many others I would assume) is that, like you said, they're a very strong team, not only from the cryptography/computer science/software development standpoint, but also the marketing standpoint, as well as the management standpoint.

When I first invested in Ripple I thought it would be a "safe" investment, as safe as investments could get in the crypto space. Why? I checked out their code, I researched the company, the people behind it. Watched interviews and talks that they gave. And I admit, not only was I impressed by their work, which is phenomenal by the way, I was also convinced and immediately bought 1000 XRP when it had hit 60 cents.

Although your comment about inflation always looming above XRP and applying that downward pressure, I ultimately think that's good for XRP. For the pumpers and dumpers it isn't because it makes it much more difficult for them to do so - but as a currency, we need Ripple to be as stable as possible. This kind of inflationary pressure detracts "investors" who are purely in it for the pump and dump and quick buck from touching XRP, making it actually usable as a currency.

Compare this to Verge, which has nothing more than a codebase and an idea. It saw a 4000% pump over a couple of months. Something similar happened to EmberCoin where it pumped 2000% in one day. Just mindless, meaningless pumps that happen everyday with a new crypto.

As for investing in Ripple the company, I think that's a brilliant idea, and I'm hoping they have ideas of an IPO as soon as they get more deals in with banks and try to work through this tangle of a problem. You're definitely right, replacing SWIFT isn't going to happen in one year. Probably not even in five years. I would say 10 years is also too optimistic.

Anyways, great points and as always great video!

Sort:  

Yes, increasing supply is useful for currencies based on most economic principles (not all). Pumps in smaller cryptocurrencies can occur due to one source, but mega caps like RIpple only pump when FOMO sets in which I believe we are seeing now. I wish they would file for an IPO - I would love to read the S1 as it would provide a lot of insight into what it takes to build a cryptocurrency the scale that Ripple is. Thanks for the valuable comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54