DO NOT USE CHANGELLY!!!

in #ripple7 years ago (edited)

changelly-logo-1.png

Last night I tried to make an exchange for XRP to LTC (dumb, I know) through Changelly. It estimates that transactions will take anywhere from 5-30 minutes. Two hours after my withdrawal and transfer was completed, I was still stuck on the transaction page in the "Sending" stage.

I reached out to their customer service team, and this was the response I received...

Changelly Email.PNG

"Dear customer,
Sorry for making you wait! We are currently having some issues with XRP.
Our engineers are dealing with the issue without a break so that you will receive your money as soon as possible."

I went into my account history and click on what looked like the "refresh" button on the transaction. I noticed that the original destination LTC address was changed, and was in fact NOT my wallet address. I found this to be extremely disconcerting considering the explanation on their site of "How it Works".

Changelly How it Works.PNG

Instead of the payment going to my wallet and their commission going into theirs, the entire exchanged appeared destined to head to a different wallet (presumably theirs) first. Over 14 hours later, I am still waiting for my original transaction to complete or a refund of my XRP.

The most irritating part is that they did not have any kind of alert or message on their site indicating that transactions could and were likely to take so long. I'll provide an update as soon as I have one, but in the meantime, please be careful when using this exchange! It is not operating as advertised.

Has anyone had a similar experience?

***12.30.17 Update
The transaction on their site has stopped and the notification reads "Sorry! The payment was not received." I've reached out to them through their support page and on twitter providing all necessary details for a refund, and am waiting to hear back.

Sort:  

I haven't used it myself because I've heard so many bad reviews of it. Shapeshift.io is where it's at.

Couldn't agree more. However, Shapeshift wouldn't let me exchange XRP for anything last night if the return address required a destination tag

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29