Ripple exodus... To Exodus

in #ripple5 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 6.41.47 PM.png

tl;dr

When moving ALL of your Ripples (your Total XRP Balance on a single wallet) to another wallet or as Payment you need to obey the following:

  1. You need to leave 20 XRP behind. 😢

  2. You need to subtract additional XRP as required by your Wallet, Gate, Exchange, Etc. 🥺

For GateHub:

Total Available Transferrable Funds = (Dashboard Balance) — (20 XRP) — (5 XRP for each open order) — (5 XRP for each Enabled Trusted Line)

Pretty Simple, right? No? Then read below.

Moving My Ripple Funds from GateHub

I wanted to move all of my Ripple coins from GateHub to Exodus.

For this, I wanted to test the “Move Funds” feature within Exodus. This feature allows you to easily move complete balances from wallet to wallet by using your Private or Secret keys.

Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 7.45.30 AM.png

The process is simple, in Exodus, go to your wallet, find the coin on task, on the upper right corner you will find a hidden menu (three vertical dots), click on it and click Move Funds. You may need to first Unlock your wallet with your Password. Then, Exodus will ask you to enter the Private or Secret Key for the wallet with the balance to be transferred.

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 6.26.01 PM.png
Hmm ok, funds did not transferred. Try again. Why not, right? Same issue. Close Exodus, open, repeat, and nope.

Must be an Exodus thing.

I noticed the amount shown in the error message is 20 XRP less than my total amount shown on GateHub… maybe it’s a fee thing. So I searched for issues related to this and I came across a sea of solutions ranging from sending small amounts until the wallet is depleted, methodically decreasing the amount to be transferred until succeeding, etc. But none of these solved my issue, I wasn’t sending from GateHub, I was requesting a total balance transfer from Exodus.

So, before I spent hours on this, I wanted to chat with the Exodus team on their Slack channel and ask if this feature was enabled or if problems had been reported.

Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 7.27.27 AM.png
It turns out, the feature is enabled and should work.

So I decided to focus on GateHub and search their site for a solution. I probably read the notes about XRP reserves a couple times while going back and fort to reddit and twitter.

GateHub states that the Total Amount Available for you to transfer or transact with is not the Balance shown on your Dashboard. The Actual Total Transferrable Amount is your Balance, minus a wallet minimum deposit, minus a small fee for each open order in the market, and minus a small fee for each trusted line that is enabled for trading.

So I head back to GateHub and look for any open orders, none there. Then, I look for any enabled Trusted Line and there are 5 of those enabled.

Aha!

I honestly do not remember enabling these trusted lines. But, with a flick of a click or five, I disabled all of them and went back to Exodus.

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 6.37.17 PM.png
Step 1. On GateHub, go to your wallet and click Advanced at the very bottom. Then, click on Show Trust Lines.

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 6.38.36 PM.png
Step 2. Hoover with your mouse pointer over the balance on each trusted line and the option to Remove trust will appear.

Screen Shot 2019-05-10 at 6.41.53 PM.png
Great Success!

The solution was simple, I just needed to be educated on the GateHub specific requirements for XRP reserves, link below.

So now you know.

Thanks,
DanielRe
👨‍💻😅

Links

GateHub: https://support.gatehub.net/hc/en-us/articles/360005145693-XRP-reserve

Trezor: https://trezor.io/

Exodus: https://www.exodus.io/trezor/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47