Good shooting, Tex (My LTC test yesterday)

qual9.jpg

I had a nice "day off" yesterday. I took the Texas License To Carry (LTC) course and test.

I took the course at Central Texas Gun Works. Application fee (state)is $45 for vets, course with gun rental was $85 at Central Texas Gun Works, fingerprints at $10.

The course was nice, they served pizza for lunch, but my gut was rolling (had an EDG last week, and was blocked up until...you guessed it, yesterday LOL).

Not having fired a pistol at a range in 30 years, I was a little leery of the firing portion of the test. I had planned to go rent a G19 (the pistol I would be renting at the test), and pop off a few rounds , but I watched this video and started laughing...

...IF I couldn't hit at 3 and 7 yeards, then I have no business carrying.

But, as you can see above, I didn't do too bad ;>

You get 50 shots; 20 @ 3 yards, 20 @ 7 yards; and 10 @ 15 yards. Any hit inside the 8 ring is worth 5 points, a hit inside the 7 ring is worth 4 points, a hit on the silhouette is worth 3 points. A passing score is 175 out of the max 250 (70%).

I hit the silhouette twice, scored inside the 7 ring 5 times, and missed the silhouette once (made the sumbitch duck tho, look to the right of his head ;> )...so 42 out of 50 I placed for 5 points.

Not too shabby after 30 years, eh what?

Texas residents can check the Central Texas Gun Works site for the steps involved for applying for your LTC. I had a good experience with their staff, and would recommend them for anyone doing this in the Central Texas area

It will take at least a month to get the license, so I will be renting and shooting a few different pistols over that time to see what I'd like to carry on an every day basis. I had forgotten how fun shooting a pistol is.

Sort:  

Hi @stevescoins!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.555 which ranks you at #552 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 343 contributions, your post is ranked at #184.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

If your hand fits, a Walter PPK carries really nice.

Since i have very little extra body mass, i like the slimmer guns, along the 1911 style.

I got small hands (could barely fire the 1911 with squeeze safety)

PPK is on the list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85