Riga - beautiful town with friendly people

in #riga6 years ago

We have stayed here for a couple of days and so far we like it. Riga offers a lot: old town vibes, good food, big beautiful parks, shopping and amazing beaches of Jurmala. There is so much to see and to do but unfortunately we have only one day left. We couldn't fit too much stuff on our daily programme as we are traveling with the kid and he has his daily rhythm, you know sleeping, eating and all.

A couple of pictures from Riga:

20180523_151622.jpg
We are staying in the city centre near to large parks. Good choice when traveling with infants!

Our kid wants to run and run and run and... run. He wants to do that all the time! He likes to sit in the strollers but not for too long. After a while he has to get some running time. Parks are great as there he can run and fall and run and fall again, and we don't have to worry about busy city streets with cars.

20180523_124905.jpg
There he is, looking at the next destination.

Parks were also very beautiful and accurate. Kids playground was a huge plus!

20180522_103652.jpg

20180523_125856.jpg
Slide - one of our favorites.

Old city of Riga is definitely worth visiting. The place is full of cozy cafeterias, restaurants, shops, and historical buildings.

20180523_151142.jpg
Temperanillo and frutta di bosco

20180522_090218.jpg
Old city early in the morning

20180522_101721.jpg
The weather is perfect for a city vacation, not too hot but warm and sunny.

We also visited long and famous Jurmala beaches. There is a lot of cultural events such as concerts, dancing, restaurants and night life. This time we just hung around on the beach but next time (without our kid!!) I would like to go on a concert or a stand-up.

20180521_164448.jpg
Just the beach was enough for us this time

20180521_163845.jpg
Yes, he likes sand

All in all, I could recommend Riga to anyone. We have been very lucky with the weather but I think it works very well also in winter, spring and autumn.

20180521_094359.jpg

Our trip continues, now it's time for Riga Zoo!

Lindiry

Sort:  

Nice photos! I have never visited Riga but maybe I have to consider it now... :)

It's definitely worth considering! :)

And the next destination would be?

Norway?:D

We'll see. :)

Thanks for the photos! It would be nice if you could show more of the cityscape in your photos.

Think I could do a post with landscape photos. Hopefully, there is some good shots... I only have phone photos ':/

It looks like you guys are having wonderful time and your son is so cute! ^^ Must be difficult traveling with little kids though. Hope rest of your trip goes nicely as well :)

Thank you @m31, we hope that too!

It's definitely more challenging to travel with small kids. However, it's a choice and we just have to deal with it. After all, kids are small for a very short time and situations are changing constantly. Our next trip (4months - 1 year from now) will be different. There will be new challenges and new advantages. ;)

Im visiting Lativa too with my gf, what a coincidence . Enjoy your travel guys :D

Thank you! Enjoy you guys too. :)

How do you like it so far?

Kiitos Samoin , we are having great time . It’s my third time visiting Latvia, but first time with my gf. Since she’s from here so I don’t need to worry much about where to eat/hangaround etc you know , I just follow her :D, as from your recent posts it seems like you guys are having a wonderful time too :D

Ahh, it's so much easier to travel with locals! I wish there was someone that could have guide us too. However, the trip was a success anyway. :)

I've been wanting to visit Riga for years now, but haven't fulfilled this dream yet. I love the old towns of Tallinn and Vilnius, the atmosphere there is just somehow really lovely. I think Riga would be a really nice vacation destination, it's nearby, and you get both, the city and the beach, I really have to go there!
I hope you had a lovely trip with your family! 😊

Yes I had! I think you'll like Riga. In my opinion Tallinn is a bit nicer and I've never been in Vilnus, but Riga is absolutely worth visiting. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56