Mossberg MVP LR .308 short range test

in #rifle6 years ago (edited)

DSC_1067.JPGDSC_1068.JPGDSC_1071.JPGDSC_1072.JPGDSC_1069.JPGDSC_1070.JPGDSC_1068-1.JPGDSC_1075.JPGDSC_1076.JPGDSC_1077.JPGDSC_1078.JPG

So here it is! Finally got to break this beast out and send a few (definitely a few) rounds downrange. Now just as my luck would have it here lately, I hit a HUGE setback for this test which threw everything off and pretty much ruined the entire test. So the day started off I set up my target at about 300 meters, set the rifle up and everything. Took all of these pics then i laid down getting ready to put in some work. I sent 10 rounds downrange only wanting to shoot that much today. Got up took some more pics then walked my way downrange to check the target so I could get some pics of the group and to see whether I pulled a decent group. So upon getting to my target I was completely blown away..... there where only 4 rounds (1 clipped the edge) on the target out of 10 rounds! Now im not the best shot in the world but im not the worst either. I know I landed all of my shots! As I was standing there all perplexed holding the rifle I felt something shake on the rifle. I look down and give the rifle a little shake and feel it again. I thought it may have been the bolt moving a bit so I hold the bolt and give it another shake and still feel it. Then thats when i noticed it...... THE RAIL FOR THE SCOPE WAS LOOSE!!!!!! It had a good bit of movement and I dont know how I didnt notice it before! Now im not sure whether it worked loose when i shot or it was loose to begin with either way its loose and it ruined the test. But take this how you may, the few round that did hit were a pretty good group for what it was. So that being said ive tighten the rail and plan on going back to locktight it and I also plan on putting a better scope on it just to help me out with the next test. So sorry for me not having a legit test out but I can say from the few rounds I shot, it felt great. Im sure the lantac break helped a bit but the recoil wasnt bad at all, the action felt great and smooth and was actually a comfortable rifle to be behind. So with all of that being said i hope you all enjoy the pics and maybe next time I can have a proper test with a solid setup and a good bit more of 10 rounds.

Thanks for the patience and please upvote, follow and resteem!

Sort:  

Looking forward to reading more. I had already decided that a new .308 is in my future. Perhaps this is the one...

So far I'd say this rifle is a pretty good bargain!

Some great pics and a great looking gun. Sorry about the loose scope. Please consider using the #myhuntingfishing tag for future posts for higher rewards.

Will do! Plan on squaring everything away for this weekend to get some more range time in

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56609.34
ETH 2990.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16