Riddle me rich , Riddle me poor, Riddle me please I want more more more.

in #riddle6 years ago

So aside from being a voracious reader and general polymath I love the English language too and though I admit it has crippled me with respect to learning other languages quickly it does not mean I will stop trying.

As you may have noticed I do write poetry as the whim or muse takes me, but I also enjoy a good riddle.

This is one from the vaults and was originally destined to tease a friend of mine Marina, more colloquially know as HotForWords. She liked it so much she turned it into one of her lessons.

Bad luck now though, 'cause unless you have saved it already it has been marked private. Which suits me fine as that means no cheating :P

Anyway, I hope you enjoy it and feel free to put your guesses in the comments. I will wait for either 10 guesses or 10 days depending on which comes first before revealing the answer and the surprising truth behind the word.

banner-1090830_960_720.jpg

Now comes a word part shrouded in mystery,

Though long time used throughout our history,

It's as common a word as petals on a breeze

Or as the autumn colours fall from the trees.

Used by all, from knaves to Kings

It truly has been a wonderful thing

It let cities be built as never before

And found its place at everyones' door.

It truly is global, all around the earth

But none so close as to our own hearth

the-earth-1179205_640.png

Old as the hills and yet fresh each year

It should be so obvious, it's clear

Living without it is impossible, it's true,

Everyone uses it no matter what you do.

And even though in history it has changed

And no longer means for one who's deranged

A riddle is so apt for believe it or not

The clue is right there with one letter forgot.

So what am I then, do I have you all fooled?

What is my real name, what should I be called?

58c057f248fd57.15791122pensador.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69